DXVA problems in XBMC 13 Gotham with Radeon HD3xxx HD2xxx

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
chriswdavis Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Wink  RE: DXVA problems in XBMC 13 Gotham with Radeon HD3xxx HD2xxx
Post: #91
Thanks for everyones hard work. I have a radeon hd3450 and this solved my problem.
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-18 15:30 by chriswdavis.)
find quote
nille02 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #92
I've added the 13.2 Final Build

PS: The 13.1 Final has 370 Downloads.

Gotham/Kodi for Radeon HD2xxx up to HD3xx Users XBMC Gotham for AMD HD2xxx-HD3xxx
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-19 14:03 by nille02.)
find quote
sorcer1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Oct 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #93
Hello,
I can understand the hardware limitation but i don't understand why it was working for years for me ( it's the same graphic card for me) and now it's not working any more !
find quote
nille02 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #94
Because the XBMC Code was changed. i don't understand why code with a regression gets merged.

Gotham/Kodi for Radeon HD2xxx up to HD3xx Users XBMC Gotham for AMD HD2xxx-HD3xxx
find quote
nille02 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #95
I've added the 14.0a3.

Since 14.0 there is also a other issue with b-pyramid=strict option. This option is part of the BD compatibility profile for h264. This also happen with newer card so i don't suggest to use kodi 14 at all.

Gotham/Kodi for Radeon HD2xxx up to HD3xx Users XBMC Gotham for AMD HD2xxx-HD3xxx
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-06 18:06 by nille02.)
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,273
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 65
Location: Munich
Post: #96
(2014-08-28 15:49)nille02 Wrote:  Because the XBMC Code was changed. i don't understand why code with a regression gets merged.

Because the benefits of ffmpeg upgrade outweigh those kinds of regression. Actually it's not too hard to fix this issue, it just needs to be done.
find quote
sunnycheeba Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #97
Thank You nille02! I am using Windows7 x64 and ATI 3650. i have had issues with Gotham ever since updating, the first video played would always open minimized and when bringing to the foreground the video would be blank with only audio. Closing and reopening the video would sometimes resolve playback but it would often crash causing the need to open Task Manager and 'End Process" in order to close XBMC. I am now using your Gotham 13.2 build and all my previous issues seem to be solved. Also thanks to @cg110 @afedchin and others here at xbmc.org
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-07 10:44 by sunnycheeba.)
find quote
nille02 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #98
(2014-09-06 18:30)FernetMenta Wrote:  Actually it's not too hard to fix this issue, it just needs to be done.

afedchin do this, but its always rejected. if i read the current comments on github i fear that kodi 14 gets a buggy dxva renderer too and there are new dxva bugs since 13 like the problem with b-pyramid=strict.

EDIT: The XBMC13 Builds has over 500 Downloads.

Gotham/Kodi for Radeon HD2xxx up to HD3xx Users XBMC Gotham for AMD HD2xxx-HD3xxx
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-07 10:58 by nille02.)
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,273
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 65
Location: Munich
Post: #99
@nille02
could you please test my dxva branch? https://github.com/FernetMenta/xbmc/tree/dxva
find quote
nille02 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #100
with this, DXVA2 is working again with older hardware but the b-pyramid=strict (the much much worse problem, because this affects newer hardware too and its part of BD compatibility) persist.

Gotham/Kodi for Radeon HD2xxx up to HD3xx Users XBMC Gotham for AMD HD2xxx-HD3xxx
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-08 14:08 by nille02.)
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,273
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 65
Location: Munich
Post: #101
thanks for feedback. it was not supposed to fix the b-pyramid issue, only the issue mentioned in the title
find quote
nille02 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #102
So, this Problem should be fixed now in the next Kodi Version. I want to say thanks to every involved person.

Gotham/Kodi for Radeon HD2xxx up to HD3xx Users XBMC Gotham for AMD HD2xxx-HD3xxx
find quote
Post Reply