ServerWMC will not stream live TV Channels

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
spankys97 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I am trying to stream my live tv channels to my XBMC on a Samsung S4. It will stream fine when on my local LAN, but when I switch the phone to 4g (by Sprint) I get the little wheel that says WORKING and after a few seconds it goes away and nothing ever streamed. I am using a Windows 7 machine, I7 processor, 8GB ram. I have a ceton 4 tuner card. I am using Windows media center and it plays fine on all TV's Can you help?

I have poseted my logs
http://pastebin.com/3Wv3MNgM
find quote
scarecrow420 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 806
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 21
Post: #2
The phone can only contact the ServerWMC machine over LAN so it needs to use the wifi connection to do so. What do you mean by "switch the phone to 4G"? Does it involve turning off/disconnecting from the home wifi AP? If so then that is why it isnt working - your phone cant contact your ServerWMC PC via your phone carrier/internet.

If you do want to be able to access your PVR liveTV and recordings etc over an internet connection from a mobile phone device, you should check out Media Browser 3, which ServerWMC also operates with. MB3 supports transcoding and can stream your tv over your internet connection to a mobil device etc
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-14 05:51 by scarecrow420.)
find quote
spankys97 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
"switch the phone to 4G"- I mean turning off the WIFI function of the phone when I am at home, or leaving home and becoming to distant for my router reception; the phone automatically goes to the 4g data service from the cell service provider- Sprint. I am looking to stream my cable channels to my phone when I am away from home. I will try Media Browser 3 and report back to you. Thanks for the information and quick response.
find quote
scarecrow420 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 806
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 21
Post: #4
Yeah XBMC is really only designed to operate over a LAN, MB3 plex and other things that do transcoding and streaming are probably more what you are looking for
find quote
spankys97 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
I have read through the MB3 site, and I see that it will stream live TV to my android phone, but I am also wondering if it will stream my cable channels over the internet to my laptop running windows 7- site did not seem real clear on this matter. I just did not want to buy the key code and spend hours setting up MB3 only to find out it will not stream to my laptop. I have looked at other streaming programs and they mention that theirs will only work with a laptop running windows 8 or 8.1 for example.
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,405
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 47
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #6
?? MB-server is free. Maybe you talking about purchasing an android app client for it, but instead just start with a web browser client and see if you like it.

Also MBS will run as a client of serverwmc, along side xbmc. So you can use xbmc for your laptop (or whatever) like you do now.

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find quote
spankys97 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
I have installed MB3 and yes it works GREAT. I can finally stream live tv channels to my lap top. I did notice a problem though, it streams for a while...say..10 min....then it just stops playing and returns to a screen where I have to push play again...after a few min it does the same again. It does this on both LAN and WAN. My LAN is over 50mbps and the WAN hotspot is 4g ( about 5 mbps). I have tried different bitrates with no success. Have any suggestions?
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,405
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 47
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #8
This has been an on going problem with mbs, assuming its the same problem, it is something on the mbs side (not our plugin). To know for sure its the same problem, post a link to the serverwmc log after it stops prematurely.

Stuff related to mbs should be posted on the forum below (the developers of this addon are active there too):
http://mediabrowser3.com/community/index...7-live-tv/

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find quote
spankys97 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
I forgot to mention I downloaded the latest version of FireFox to stream .....just FYI.
I have posted logs at the following:
http://pastebin.com/FUe6wf4R
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,405
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 47
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #10
It looks the same: for some reason mbs is calling 'CloseStream' even though the feed is still going. I recommend posting the mbs and ffmpeg logs for mbs (along with the swmc log just of for completeness) on the mbs forum I listed in my last post.

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find quote
spankys97 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
ok...will do, thank you
find quote
spankys97 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Ok...thanks for all your help...with it I have gotten everything up and running the way I want. Now I have a new challenge...I want to use my RaspberryPI to stream live TV through XBMC running Opeonelec, but I do not see a link to download the WMC.PVR. So do you have a link or another PVR that will work with my ServerWMC? FYI...the MB3 is working great now for streaming to my phone.
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,405
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 47
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #13
How did you fix the premature stopping problem in mb3?

You can hand install pvr.wmc for openelec from our download page:
https://googledrive.com/host/0ByNnAMYBoW...index.html

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find quote
Dilligaf Offline
Fan
Posts: 717
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 29
Post: #14
@krusty I think you should relabel the downlod page from linux (arm): to RaspberryPi or linux (RaspberryPi)

If I have been of help, please add to my reputation as a way of saying thanks, it's free.
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,405
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 47
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #15
Done. Thanks.

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find quote
Post Reply