New ouya update + XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
zaidrockso Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
So i downloaded the New ouya update Chupacabra, then download xbmc on ouya from discover , imported video library.

Movies with Dts and Dolby digital AC3 isn't working ?

No sound whatsoever

MP3 , AAC Working fine

Also for some reason the Analog isn't working on the XBMC on ouya ?

Any help / explanations appreciated

P.s - Reason i'm not using xbmc gotham sideloaded is because i get crashes often if the xbmc was just opened, or between hard drive changes, and when i asked for help i was told that xbmc for ouya is unofficial so they can't help me.
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-21 01:34 by zaidrockso.)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,701
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 266
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #2
Unrelated to the OUYA update. The removal of those audio decoding features came after Dolby or someone got mad at OUYA for not paying a license to perform the decoding, so OUYA had them removed so they wouldn't get in trouble.

Gotham shouldn't crash anymore, and OUYA not helping you with with XBMC really isn't an issue since they have no one there who actually knows about XBMC. You'll get more help from us. Still, if for some reason v13 Gotham isn't your thing, you can sideload SPMC, which is the OUYA store version + audio DTS and AC3. A list of these different versions and links to them can be found on our wiki: OUYA

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
zaidrockso Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Ned, The new update was meant to re-add the audio decoding features... and it claims it has, but ac3 and dts still isn't working

Just read what actually hapenned, and i don't think i have an audio receiver.

My old problem still remains the same, the crashes are making me want to throw the ouya out , ( Crashes explained in the link of this post )

The issue i have with ouya and xbmc ( Gotham sideloaded )

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=190242 ( now using gotham beta 4 instead )

No replies =.=
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-21 14:01 by zaidrockso.)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,701
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 266
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #4
(2014-04-21 13:52)zaidrockso Wrote:  Ned, The new update was meant to re-add the audio decoding features... and it claims it has, but ac3 and dts still isn't working

Just read what actually hapenned, and i don't think i have an audio receiver.

My old problem still remains the same, the crashes are making me want to throw the ouya out , ( Crashes explained in the link of this post )

The issue i have with ouya and xbmc ( Gotham sideloaded )

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=190242 ( now using gotham beta 4 instead )

No replies =.=

No, the update was only for audio passthrough. It has no impact on software decoding/downmixing. Believe me, I've been following this specific issue closely.

As for the other issue, I'll reply to that other thread.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote