Cutting the Cord- Linux or Windows 7 Build??:
I'm going to 'try' to cut the cable cord. I know its going to be tough,but its going to be a great learning experience.
I need advice:
Would like to try out a linux system but unsure how to configure for live OTA Tv
Can somone please direct me or provide me with system setup and best linux distro? Or should I stay with Windows OS?

Thanks
I don't think Live TV is possible in Linux.
No live tv? That stinks....I guess its back to Windows and forking out money for the OS.
I wanted to try linux bec its Free and OpenElec or Mythbuntu seem to be what I was looking for, but I'm not experienced on Linux. I currently have an HD Prime but don't know if I can use it with OTA tv.
Don't take my word for it but as far as I know it's not possible. I could be wrong though. Wait for other people to confirm before you make a decision.
Err... Live TV is available in every variation of XBMC as far as I'm aware. Certainly I use it on Linux, Windows and Android - I don't have an iOS device to test, but there's a pattern emerging there. It's a product of the backend tuner system at the end of the day, so have a look at the PVR section of the forum and look at WMC, Argus, MediaPortal, MythTV, tvheadend and anything else that takes your fancy. It depends on what you're comfortable with and what systems you have (e.g. does it have to be an all-on-one or do you have a separate NAS/server that could host the TV tuners).

OpenElec is a very popular dedicated Linux platform that includes XBMC and tvheadend (for live TV and recording) in one fast-booting image. Windows backends tend to be more resource-heavy, as does the OS, so whether that's viable depends on your hardware.

EDIT

A useful thread for your HD HomeRun tuner:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=182556