Req Inhibit Idle Shutdown Timer
Hi All,

I am pretty new to this so hopefully i am posting this in the right place.

I have been searching the forum for some time now and cant find what i am looking for.

I would like to have a timer to to auto reset the "Inhibit Idle Shutdown" Feature and i have so far been unable to find an add-on to do this.

To explain a little further i have added my scenario below:

I have XBMC (Gotham) set up on a dedicated windows machine. In addition i have a standard Master control power board set up so that when the PC running XBMC shuts down (or suspends) the rest of my home theater system is also powered off.

I have done this because there a several (unnamed) people who tend to leave everything on. So i use the idle shutdown time to turn everything off.

Unfortunately this means that if someone wants to use a source other than XBMC, say conventional TV, they must first "Inhibit Idle Shutdown" to prevent XBMC shutting the whole system down. Unfortunately, for they same reason they cant just turn everything off, they invariably forget to re-enable "idle shutdown".

I want to create a system where by they can enable the "inhibit idle shutdown" function for a set period of time after which the system will automatically re-enable the idle shutdown feature.

I am just starting to read the documentation on how to writing an add-on, but this will be a steep learning curve (i have some experience in C++ for micro controllers but this is a whole other ball game). So i am hoping some has some good suggestions or options

Any help would be much appreciated.

Dylan

I am running Win7 x86 with XBMC Gotham
Kind of like a dead man switch? :)