Official Addons
Hey! I'm new to Kodi and this forum. I'm working on setting up an HTPC box. So far its coming along great. I'm getting a MINIX remote for it. Its gonna be sweet.

One thing I noticed about Kodi was that its entirely open source (which is good), but I have not found one addon that is official. Like the youtube app doesn't look anything like youtube does on say googletv or androidtv. Plex addon doesn't look or work anything like the plex app which is available on googletv. Netflix addon is as unofficial as it gets.

Soooo, I'd imagine as the Kodi community continues to grow, will we see actual companies like youtube, netflix, plex, etc. etc. creating official kodi addons (if they're not already doing so)?? Secondly, are there skins available that make the unoffical addons more like the official ones?

Thanks!

Shawn
1) probably no, but they are welcome to do so
2) no, it's more up to the addons to provide a custom UI if wanted (see spotymc) - but it's easier for them to not do a custom UI and only provide the data which has the benefit that you have a consistent UI all over the place
Read the latest discussion in http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=25 about HTML layout engine integration, HTML5 apps, and DRM.

Companies will likely not provide "official" addons until there is a framework like example Chromium Embedded Framework (CEF) in place embedded into Kodi for HTML5 addons.

In my opinion implementing an HTML5 engine inside Kodi would be the only realistic beginning as a platform for a such solution.
Html5 video based sites have no reason to wait for CEF. In general those streams are fully open to whatever player and there is nothing special the player in chromium does that we don't.
If you have problems please read this before posting

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.