Kodibuntu and Mythbuntu - Success!
Hello!

So I've been playing with this since yesterday. Some background. I've been using Media Center under Windows 7 for several years now (Ever since I knew I could use a CableCard and stop paying the cable companies an obscene amount of money) with a HDHomeRune Prime. I've never had a unified experience with Media Center but we lived with it (Not being able to watch Recorded TV that was still in progress on a secondary TV was a bit of a bummer!) Well - I just heard that Media Center will no longer be supported so I started looking at my alternatives now.

I first started on the road by realizing I needed to figure out what I wanted to do in terms of my client/server setup (backend/frontend). I decided it would be best to put MythTV into a virtual machine using HyperV (currently on my workstation but will end up building a dedicated server for it in the future, and will be able to easily move it to another box) I installed MythBuntu - I tried to "demo" the setup without subscribing or paying for any EPG Services, but got nowhere slowly.. I ended up signing up to Schedules Direct for the EPG and ended up with a 7 day trial! Nice!... So, after this point my progress sped up quickly. Channels lined up and I was able to open Kodi from my Windows PC and tune the channels. Tuning is a bit slower than media center, but something I think I can live with. At this point my "lab" was done.

At this point I need to work on replacing my two HTPC's with Kodi, now running Windows7/Media Center. I loaded Kodi on top of Windows on my upstairs HTPC. I immediately noticed the cursor and video was a bit sluggish. Possibly something I could live with. I then enable the PVR Client and watch Live TV. Audio and Video not matching up. This was not going to work. At this point I considered using KodiBuntu - It's been 15 years since I've used Linux, so I was a bit hesitant! I ended up loading it and almost immediately regret it.