robocopy file/folder script for backup to 2 xbox's
Is there a script that checks a specific folders on say xbox(1) and copies its contents to another xbox(2), but then only copys the changed/updated files/folders, similar to robocopy on windows?

I want to be able to have some kind mirror of data, but as the data only changes rarely, wanted a script which would occassional allow me to synchronise data of a specific folder on both xboxs (one downstairs and one in the bedroom)

I found a XBMCprep.zip script, but this only deletes and renames, I am not a python expert but would appreciate any help or guidance.

Eilz
I wrote XBMCprep to "cleanup" the new builds so they did not overwrite my customizations before I FTP them to the XBOX.

For your needs, you can get a PC based FTP client (most any will work fine) to do what you want... just setup your client to FTP from one box to the other, and only overwrite if newer - one box will need to be authoritative... e.g. the "master".
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
Affini Wrote:I wrote XBMCprep to "cleanup" the new builds so they did not overwrite my customizations before I FTP them to the XBOX.

For your needs, you can get a PC based FTP client (most any will work fine) to do what you want... just setup your client to FTP from one box to the other, and only overwrite if newer - one box will need to be authoritative... e.g. the "master".

But really wanted to know if it was possible to create a script to do it without having a PC, or even some kind of hardware based ftp box.
A script could be written, but i guess it could only go off file sizes. But usually if a file is changed even the slightest, the filesize will change.

Wouldn't be too hard... you should look into python.

Probably would need just a single os.walk loop that checks if a dir exists, if not then creats, then checks all the files in the dir and compares sizes, if different, then overwrites.