Kodi 17 - Windows Admin account
Hi,

I have been using Kodi / XBMC for many years with no real issues which I only mention to highlight that I am not new to Kodi!

I just installed Kodi 17 over the top of 16 on a Windows 10 (anniversary edition) using the 'old fashioned' installer (i.e. not from the store) and find that I can now only run it as an Administrator. I have never had this issue before and have no idea why it should have suddenly become a problem now.

Does anyone have any ideas? I would like to get this resolved as I plan to upgrade two other PCs from 16 to 17.

Thanks
Hello, as long you have no portable mode you can install kodi as normal user.
Thanks but I have installed using the standard Windows installer. The installer itself asked for Admin privileges (as expected) but once installed will not run as a standard user either.

I am not using any kind of portable installation.
Kodi should run as a standard user

-Go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Kodi
-right click on kodi.exe and choose properties
-go to compatibility panel and make sure "run as admin" is uncheck
-do the same thing in the kodi shortcut properties
Moanbag is in da place!
Thanks I checked all that and it still will not run as a standard user.

I tried uninstalling and re-installing and I also tried installing from the Windows Store.
Nothing worked so I went back and reinstalled 16.1 and that works fine.

Very strange....
.....but a solution for version 17 would be nice.
Will 17.1rc user install work, or do permissions deny you? I would be tempted to try portable mode as a normal user.
Does your suggestion to try 17.1rc imply that this might be a known issue?

I might try 17.1rc but I'd always rather stay with stable versions.

And if I do go for a portable install can I still keep all my preferences, settings and database etc.? I have it replicated across three PCs.