What do i need?
Howdy boys and girls

Been lurking around a couple of days and reading my butt off.
Since the posts concerning software minimums are a little bit dated i was wondering: What is the absolute minimum software i need?
Ive installed using ubuntu 7.10 desktop and then apt-get install xbmc and it works. But i dont think i need a complete ubuntu-installation with all the rest off the programs and stuff layin around.
Can i go with the ubuntu 7.10 server dist and the apt-get xbmc and it will install everythin i need? Or do i need a complete desktop enviroment?

Sorry about the spelling, i have no excuse Eek
I'm running 7.10 server as well... You will have to install x-window-system but no desktop environment.. you will then have to write some scripts to start an x session and xbmc.. I posted mine awhile back, so just search the forums.
Hey rrambo!
I have limited experience with linux witch makes it complicated following your guide.
You say in your post "base install of 7.10 server with x-window-system, ssh, lirc, envy and xbmc/dependencies".
Is it just as simple as [apt-get install x-window-system] etc on all the software i need ?
kapten79 Wrote:Hey rrambo!
I have limited experience with linux witch makes it complicated following your guide.
You say in your post "base install of 7.10 server with x-window-system, ssh, lirc, envy and xbmc/dependencies".
Is it just as simple as [apt-get install x-window-system] etc on all the software i need ?
Yes, sudo apt-get install for everything except envy.. Google ubuntu envy and download the .deb package from the devs website then follow instructions to run..
Awesome
Ill take notes while i try it in case anybody wants like a small guide or something...
Maby someone is as lost as me =)
Son of a bird-scene!