Philips TV - Android TV - MediaCodec (Surface) colour issue
I recently purchased a Philips TV running Android, and was excited to install Kodi on it, as it could simplify my setup (I have been using a windows machine with a non-Smart TV for the last 8/9 years). 

Installed Kodi fine, got NFS file share working fine, but stumbled on a problem with video colour. 

All the reds become pink/purple and I can almost correct it with the TV colour correction settings, but I can see that the UI colours - and other still images are fine. It only affects video, and colour display is fine on the other Android TV apps, e.g. Youtube, Netflix etc.

I have narrowed it down to the hardware acceleration options in the Kodi settings. If I turn off MediaCodec (surface), colour is good, red is red. However the lack of acceleration means the video is unwatchable, stuttering and getting out of sync with the sound. Turn on the MediaCodec (surface), and video is smooth but pink/purple. 

I can't find a video addon within Kodi to do colour correction and I have no idea how to troubleshoot the hardware acceleration - other than turn it on or off. Does anyone on the forum experience something similar, or have any tips on resolving this?

In the meantime I can switch back to using the windows machine running Kodi - which appears fine.

Thanks!
(2020-04-02, 02:03)sdevans_nz Wrote: I recently purchased a Philips TV running Android, and was excited to install Kodi on it, as it could simplify my setup (I have been using a windows machine with a non-Smart TV for the last 8/9 years). 

Installed Kodi fine, got NFS file share working fine, but stumbled on a problem with video colour. 

All the reds become pink/purple and I can almost correct it with the TV colour correction settings, but I can see that the UI colours - and other still images are fine. It only affects video, and colour display is fine on the other Android TV apps, e.g. Youtube, Netflix etc.