"No signal" When switching to HDMI input
Question 
Hello,

I run Kodi on my Pi4 and when I switch to HDMI, I get often get 'No signal' on my TV. Rebooting my Kodi service results in everything working again.

If I switch from HDMI to (say Netfix) and then come back to HDMI later, once again I get "No signal".

I never had this issue on Buster, its only been since I switched to Bullseye. So I don't believe there is any kind of hardware issue. It must be a config issue, or a bug.

Setup:

LG C9 OLED TV.
Pi 4

Linux raspberrypi 5.15.32-v8+ #1538 SMP PREEMPT Thu Mar 31 19:40:39 BST 2022 aarch64

/boot/config.txt:
# Enable DRM VC4 V3D driver
dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d,cma-512
max_framebuffers=2

# Hardware HEVC acceleration
dtoverlay=rpivid-v4l2

Tried my best to search for an answer (I'm a beginner) and the best I could come up with was that it might be some sort of KMS vs FKMS thing.

As always, appreciate any help.
It's not quite clear which order you are doing things in, but the Pi needs to be able to read the edid of display when it boots.

What this means varies by TV.
For most, just plugged in by hdmi is enough.
For others they need to be powered on (i.e. not in standby)
and for others they need to also have the correct AV input selected.

If you are hitting this, then you can capture the edid to a file, so it's always available (but note, you'll need to repeat this if you change to a different TV).
Code:
sudo cp /sys/devices/platform/gpu/drm/card?/card?-HDMI-A-1/edid /lib/firmware/edid.dat
and add to the end of /boot/cmdline.txt (on same line)
Code:
drm.edid_firmware=HDMI-A-1:edid.dat video=HDMI-A-1:D
(2022-05-30, 13:44)popcornmix Wrote: It's not quite clear which order you are doing things in, but the Pi needs to be able to read the edid of display when it boots.
Firstly, I want to point out that how I'm doing things now, is how I've always done them, and that was never an issue while using Buster.  Point being, if the EDID was working then, it should be working now.