Req How do folks sort their local (NAS) media? / Is their a way 'archive' shows?
How do folks sort/organize their local media?

I am new to Kodi (running a Dell Optiplex 7020 with W11 / Kodi 20.2 w/Estuary MOD v2 Nexus skin), and got it going relatively quick . It's amazing, and was able to phase out my Windows 7 based Media Center (w/Ceton tuner and cable card and liveTC) in just a few days till the family accepted the PBS and Pluto and Plex livestreams.

WMC basically does not show any meta data, and you effectively browse the filesystem for anything what you would like to see. Move that out of the way, and it's gone from WMC as well

Kodi offers the amazing 'Movies' and 'TV Shows' views, which is great! I've been looking for a way to partition my media though, and have now laid it out in many sources. e.g. c\shows, c\showskids, c\movies, c\movieskids.

Since I don't want the kids to see the adult stuff, the easiest way I found is to just create a new profile. I have a kids profile and that only has the kids stuff. But even in the kids section, I'd like to be able to filter out stuff. E.g, they are now watching many Xmas related contents. Come January though, I'd like to 'disable' those shows till next year. I suppose I can move it on the filesystem and then clean the library, and then reimport it next year, but that seems tedious.

I guess I'd like to have a few more top level 'TV Shows' entries, if anything just 2: 'Active TV shows' and 'Archived TV shows'. Moving into the Active TV Shows would only show those shows and not the archived ones.

I messed with Library node editor to create filters and that works till some extend, but hitting the main TV Shows or Movies will show the complete list and I don't want to see archived stuff.

Anyone have any suggestions to try?

TL;DR How do you partition your meda? Looking for a way to only see 'Active' Movies and Shows, while having 'Archived' Movies and Show available with a click.
use multi path sources