[XBOX] HOW-TO fully use your Comcast Remote with XBMC for Xbox

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
amducious Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Thumbs Up  [XBOX] HOW-TO fully use your Comcast Remote with XBMC for Xbox
Post: #1
From what I here this should also work on the Cox remotes

There is a code (0522) for using your Comcast remote with your Xbox but it sucks most of the keys don’t work and some are doubles. So I started doing some digging and found a way to program each key on a Comcast remote individually. Here is how my remote now functions


[Image: ComsatXBMC.jpg]

This is how I did it

T=Tap
HS = Hold the setup button till lights blink twice
TS = Tap setup

First you need to disable the remote from controlling our TV volume while in AUX
T aux -> HS -> 993 -> VOL-

Now for setting up all the buttons
T aux -> HS -> 0822 ->
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00219 -> Power
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00099 -> On Demand
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00170 -> Reverse
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00106 -> Play
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00178 -> Forward
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00186 -> stop
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00202 -> Pause
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00035 -> the key under the stop button
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00019 -> live
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00043 -> page up
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00051 -> page down
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00200 -> up
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00208 -> down
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00128 -> left
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00120 -> right
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00109 -> ok/Select
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00226 -> Guide
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00179 -> info
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00082 -> menu
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00082 -> Exit
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00251 -> Back
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00155 -> Vol+
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00131 -> vol-
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00203 -> Mute
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00139 -> 1
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00163 -> 2
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00155 -> 3
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00115 -> 4
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00107 -> 5
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00131 -> 6
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00123 -> 7
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00211 -> 8
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00203 -> 9
HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00147 -> 0



And for people who use the dvr on there Comcast box if you do this you can unlock a 30sec skip function on the remote

cable -> HS -> 994 -> TS -> 00173 -> press whatever button you want to 30 second skip to be I use the A(lock) button
(This post was last modified: 2008-10-20 03:29 by amducious.)
find quote
Abeerdrinker Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Nice Work. Very Nice Work MAN!!!!!

[Image: widget]
find quote
sickboy719 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Does the enter button work on XBMC now? Mine is locked to the cable box Sad
find quote
amducious Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
sickboy719 Wrote:Does the enter button work on XBMC now? Mine is locked to the cable box Sad

That has been fixed. if you use the codes posted above it will reprogram the listed buttons for use with the Xbox in AUX mode (it will NOT mess with your cable box settings)

the left side is the cable box remote and the right side is the Xbox DVD remote equivalent
ex. calbebox remote = XboxDVD remote

Power = will turn off the xbox
On Demand = display
Reverse = reverse
Play = play
Forward = forward
stop = stop
Pause = pause
15 sec back skip button (the key under the stop button) = skip-
live = skip+
page up - in a menu it will page up
page down - in a menu it will page down
up = up
down = down
left = left
right = right
ok/Select = enter
Guide = title
info = info
menu = menu
Exit = menu
Back = back
Vol+ = 3
vol- = 6
Mute = 9
1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,0
find quote
djdafreund Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 562
Joined: Dec 2005
Reputation: 0
Location: Atlanta
Post: #5
Thanks a lot for this. It's working great, should be added to the official Wiki somehow. I saved it as a word doc with image just for future reference. Works perfect. Thanks again.
find quote
vcehoa Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Many thanks, this worked great for me too.

You have a typo in the instructions that slowed me down a bit, but I found the xbox code I needed on the Comcast data sheet:

Now for setting up all the buttons
T aux -> HS -> 0822 ->

Should read:

Now for setting up all the buttons
T aux -> HS -> 20522 ->
(This post was last modified: 2008-12-03 21:26 by vcehoa.)
find quote
spoontangclan Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Thanks for this great tutorial. Does anyone know if it is possible to get the Comcast remote to control XBMC running on an XP machine? I understand at the very least I will need some type of IR hardware so my computer can handle the remote inputs...Do I need anything else than that (software)?
(This post was last modified: 2008-12-12 17:27 by spoontangclan.)
find quote
nrk666 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
STICKY THIS PLEASE.

This is a really good tutorial for thousands of comcast users.
find quote
KingJames Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Aug 2006
Reputation: -10
Post: #9
i would like to use the fav key on the remote to open up the favorites menu . how do i achieve this
find quote
amducious Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
KingJames Wrote:i would like to use the fav key on the remote to open up the favorites menu . how do i achieve this


The only way i can see doing this is editing the keymap but I dont see any options for opening the favorites menu but i could be wrong
find quote
leorik Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
of course I found this after I paid $6 for a remote off of ebay and had an eye sitting at home.


thank you sir! better than the original remote by far. much <3
find quote
Worm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
What is the code for the B key? So I can get the menu to appear while I'm watching a DVD?
find quote
amducious Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
if you are talking about the "B" key on the xbox controler I have no clue becouse iv never used the xbox controler with XBMC. But if you are talking about the "B" key on the compuer using the linux, windows, or mac, version this guide will not work for you the key mapping works differently on the computer then it dose the xbox
find quote
Worm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
I mean the B key as on the xbox controller, sorry. I found a guide that told me how to bind the A key to the controller, as it was "00001", unluckily b is not "00002". This is for my 360, however I imagine the codes might be the same.
find quote
amducious Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
sorry the codes are different but this might work for you http://www.xbox360forum.com/forum/xbox-3...360-a.html
find quote
Post Reply