[MAC] XBMCHelper (XBMC's IR-helper) new Beta version (with Logitech Harmony support)

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,181
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 176
Post: #31
Just a point of interest for those with the 520 - it may just be something weird with the Harmony setup tool.

When I first selected the plex mediacenter thing, it didn't configure some keys by default, but the most important was Prev (needed to go back up a directory level).

Just something to watch out for.

Cheers,
Jonathan

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
garyi Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,195
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
I am seeing quite an issue in that it does not seem to like repeat commands left to right so skimming through movies or what ever is not working, it will only take the first move then thats it.

However up and down is just fine, hold the button and it spins through no issue.

I also get this behaviour with my ATV upstairs and appleremote, so a bit confusing really.
find quote
Doraemonn Offline
Aeon Group
Posts: 179
Joined: Oct 2008
Post: #33
Same issue here, although great job for fixing the non-startup problem in the latest release. Looks like XBMC's remote support is finally getting up to par with PLEX's!! Well done! Big Grin
find quote
unmesh Offline
Donor
Posts: 106
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #34
I programmed my 680 to use Plex Player as a device instead of Apple TV and it won't issue IR commands when in the Launcher for say Menu, Up, Down etc at all as evidenced by the lack of the little green transmit LED turning on when these keys are pressed. IR commands that should go to the TV such as Volume are working.

Interestingly, if I instruct my Harmony to go into Device mode with PlexPlayer as the device, the controls work! I'm guessing (hoping?) that is not the way it is supposed to work.

The device I added was Computer->Media Center PC->Plex and typed in Plex Player. In the Logitech application, it says

Plex Media Center PC is set to "Media"

Is this the correct setting?

Thanks.

ATV2 5.3 (IOS6.1.4) XBMC 14.0 ALPHA1 Compiled June 15, 2014
find quote
MaestroDD Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 629
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Post: #35
garyi Wrote:I am seeing quite an issue in that it does not seem to like repeat commands left to right so skimming through movies or what ever is not working, it will only take the first move then thats it.
[...]

Repeat is only activated for up and down. Simply comes from the fact that the AppleRemote had no seperate pressed/released events for right and left, but special Right_Hold, Left_Hold events. This can probably be changed.

thanks for the feedback,
mdd


Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules. If you don't have the time to read them, please don't take the time to post in this forum!
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
MaestroDD Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 629
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Post: #36
unmesh Wrote:I programmed my 680 to use Plex Player as a device instead of Apple TV and it won't issue IR commands when in the Launcher for say Menu, Up, Down etc at all as evidenced by the lack of the little green transmit LED turning on when these keys are pressed. IR commands that should go to the TV such as Volume are working.

This thread is dedicated to reporting bugs / discussing features for the beta of XBMCHelper. This beta version is not tested on the ATV, and probably won't work there currently, sorry

unmesh Wrote:Interestingly, if I instruct my Harmony to go into Device mode with PlexPlayer as the device, the controls work! I'm guessing (hoping?) that is not the way it is supposed to work.

hm, sounds more like a misconfiguration of your Harmony. IIRC I just created an Action for XBMC with my TV, Plex Player and after activating that Action, pressed buttons go to XBMC.

unmesh Wrote:The device I added was Computer->Media Center PC->Plex and typed in Plex Player. In the Logitech application, it says

Plex Media Center PC is set to "Media"

Is this the correct setting?
think so, yes.

you might want to create a new thread to discuss the Harmony and XBMC(@ATV) issues


Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules. If you don't have the time to read them, please don't take the time to post in this forum!
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
unmesh Offline
Donor
Posts: 106
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #37
I'm wondering if, after adding the new device, I chose the wrong activity/action to set up. May I ask what you chose?

Thanks.

MaestroDD Wrote:This thread is dedicated to reporting bugs / discussing features for the beta of XBMCHelper. This beta version is not tested on the ATV, and probably won't work there currently, sorry



hm, sounds more like a misconfiguration of your Harmony. IIRC I just created an Action for XBMC with my TV, Plex Player and after activating that Action, pressed buttons go to XBMC.


think so, yes.

you might want to create a new thread to discuss the Harmony and XBMC(@ATV) issues

ATV2 5.3 (IOS6.1.4) XBMC 14.0 ALPHA1 Compiled June 15, 2014
find quote
turbinez Offline
Fan
Posts: 327
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #38
thanks for update!
find quote
Weavus Offline
Alaska Group
Posts: 346
Joined: Jun 2004
Post: #39
MaestroDD Wrote:Repeat is only activated for up and down. Simply comes from the fact that the AppleRemote had no seperate pressed/released events for right and left, but special Right_Hold, Left_Hold events. This can probably be changed.
So can it be changed? On my system Plex can handle hold left/right with my Harmony but currently XBMC with the latest XBMCHelper cannot which is really bad for the Aeon skin... Thanks.
find quote
MaestroDD Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 629
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Post: #40
new version of XBMCHelper replacement + Keymap.xml uploaded.
only thing changed was right/left-repeat functionality.
You'll need the new Keymap.xml, as Right_Hold and Left_Hold needed to be remapped.

cheers,
mdd


Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules. If you don't have the time to read them, please don't take the time to post in this forum!
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Weavus Offline
Alaska Group
Posts: 346
Joined: Jun 2004
Post: #41
Hmmm... something must have gone wrong. Downloaded new Keymap and XBMCHelper and installed them but now left and right single press don't work and hold left goes right and hold right goes left! Any ideas? Anything I can do to help you debug?

Thanks!
find quote
garyi Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,195
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
I put the new files in and nothing worked.

So I pulled them back out and put the originals back in and they don't work now either.

ffs.
find quote
garyi Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,195
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #43
Ok I went into remote settings in xbmc and cycled round to standard then restarted it and the old file works now.

Phew.
find quote
MaestroDD Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 629
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Post: #44
crap :/ I see it here, too.
I'm looking into it...


Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules. If you don't have the time to read them, please don't take the time to post in this forum!
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
MaestroDD Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 629
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Post: #45
fixed:
1) Keymap.xml was messed up, thus the right<->left swap
2) reverted some untested changes from commit before :/

Links: Keymap.xml and XBMCHelper.

sorry for the trouble!

cheers,
mdd


Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules. If you don't have the time to read them, please don't take the time to post in this forum!
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Post Reply