[RELEASE] iPlayer - BBC Video and Music Plugin (UK only!)

  Thread Rating:
  • 12 Votes - 4.33 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
lewis.donofrio Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: -10
Post: #31
mrtickle Wrote:The ticket (http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/5548) is closed because the issue is fixed.

What we're waiting for is the fix (r20463, see http://trac.xbmc.org/changeset/20463) to be merged from SVN across into the xbox branch. So you search for r20463 in trac:
http://trac.xbmc.org/search?q=r20463&noq...on&wiki=on

right now I can see:
[20580]: merged: r20463 from linuxport
but this refers to a different build.

When you see an xbox build (say from t3ch) which contains in the changelog something like this line:
(some number) [XBOX] Merged: Linuxport revisions ..... 20463....

then that build will include the fix.

HTH


So 5/21/2009 - for xbox proper doesn't have this incorporated as of yet?Oo
find quote
mrtickle Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
lewis.donofrio Wrote:So 5/21/2009 - for xbox proper doesn't have this incorporated as of yet?Oo

Correct. Which is basically what dlink said a week ago in this thread Oo
find quote
stacked Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 802
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 18
Post: #33
...tired of waiting for the merge. I'm gonna stop being lazy and compile my own xbox build. Rofl
find quote
rudeboyx Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 750
Joined: Dec 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: Burnley, UK
Post: #34
the fix is aperently gona be in XBMC Babylon 9.04.1 which cant be to far away, as its already out for the windows build. il just wait for the refined babylon release.
find quote
whufclee Offline
Fan
Posts: 320
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Essex
Post: #35
stacked Wrote:...tired of waiting for the merge. I'm gonna stop being lazy and compile my own xbox build. Rofl

Just found Justin.tv on your sig - great stuff, seems to be working great. Only problem I'm having with it is (in library mode) when you get to the 3rd level of folders it shows plugin name and not the correct details - eg Home-Sports-Soccer everything will be displayed as Justin.tv instead of what game it is but this is a problem we had before with xbmc. I think when they corrected the issue they only corrected it for one sub category and any more after that still have the same old problem. I've submitted it as a bug on TRAC #6683

Well done on the Justintv thing though - I think this is going to be very popular indeed.
find quote
dink Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 265
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #36
rudeboyx Wrote:the fix is aperently gona be in XBMC Babylon 9.04.1 which cant be to far away, as its already out for the windows build. il just wait for the refined babylon release.

Looks like the memory leak patch has been merged http://trac.xbmc.org/changeset/20810#file70 into the xbox branch. Just have to wait for a working build to appear now.

Cheers
Dink

-----------------------------------------
BBC IPlayer[url=http://drop.io/xbmcdink][/url] Plugin
find quote
stacked Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 802
Joined: Jun 2007
Reputation: 18
Post: #37
dink Wrote:Looks like the memory leak patch has been merged http://trac.xbmc.org/changeset/20810#file70 into the xbox branch. Just have to wait for a working build to appear now.

Cheers
Dink

I just compiled rev20812 for the xbox. If you guys don't want to wait for a T3CH build, you can grab a copy here.
find quote
dink Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 265
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #38
stacked Wrote:I just compiled rev20812 for the xbox. If you guys don't want to wait for a T3CH build, you can grab a copy here.

The xbox memory leak fix works. Grab a build from stacked or from http://www.sshcs.com/xbmc/ .


Cheers
Dink

-----------------------------------------
BBC IPlayer[url=http://drop.io/xbmcdink][/url] Plugin
find quote
ashlartowers Offline
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
dink Wrote:The xbox memory leak fix works. Grab a build from stacked or from http://www.sshcs.com/xbmc/ .


Cheers
Dink

Works a treat! Great quality on my xbox. :-)

I have one query, dink. Would it be possible to change the interface to be more like
http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/bigscreen/

or is that not technically possible with the current plugin framework?

Either way, this plugin (and the H264 support) is a great achievement.
find quote
PantsOnFire Offline
Fan
Posts: 597
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #40
Loving the latest build of this plugin. (using the unnofficial build)

Currently have my internet vid cache set to 4096KB which is ideal for my connection speed when viewing HIGH quality AMT trailers.

It's also fine for iPlayer video content. However, using the iPlayer radio.. I am forced to wait for 4096kb to stream in before it starts to play. XBMC seems to recognise the audio stream as a video stream? Is this because I am launching the stream from within "My Videos"?

I would have presumed xbmc would see the iPlayer radio (set as MP3) is an audio stream and just buffered 256kb of cache before playing.

Anyone know whats up? It dampens the experience somewhat having to wait 10seconds (roughly) before the radio kicks in. (I have a 10meg line by the way).


-by the way is there a reason the radio stations (listen live) take so long to kick in?
(This post was last modified: 2009-05-31 15:10 by PantsOnFire.)
find quote
dink Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 265
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #41
ashlartowers Wrote:Works a treat! Great quality on my xbox. :-)

I have one query, dink. Would it be possible to change the interface to be more like
http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/bigscreen/

or is that not technically possible with the current plugin framework?

Either way, this plugin (and the H264 support) is a great achievement.

Someone with more skinning experience may be able to correct me (and perhaps provide an appropriate skin) but as the the IPlayer script is implemented as a plugin all it can provide is a simple directory listing. You can changed how the directory is listed by changing the "View:" option.

Cheers
Dink

-----------------------------------------
BBC IPlayer[url=http://drop.io/xbmcdink][/url] Plugin
find quote
dink Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 265
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #42
PantsOnFire Wrote:Loving the latest build of this plugin. (using the unnofficial build)

Currently have my internet vid cache set to 4096KB which is ideal for my connection speed when viewing HIGH quality AMT trailers.

It's also fine for iPlayer video content. However, using the iPlayer radio.. I am forced to wait for 4096kb to stream in before it starts to play. XBMC seems to recognise the audio stream as a video stream? Is this because I am launching the stream from within "My Videos"?

I would have presumed xbmc would see the iPlayer radio (set as MP3) is an audio stream and just buffered 256kb of cache before playing.

Anyone know whats up? It dampens the experience somewhat having to wait 10seconds (roughly) before the radio kicks in. (I have a 10meg line by the way).


-by the way is there a reason the radio stations (listen live) take so long to kick in?


It is to do with the protocols used by the various radio streams and how XBMC is able or unable to properly categorize them. Catchup uses rtmp:// for MP3 & AAC. RTMP has it's own cache setup so is quite quick to kick off. Catchup can also use rtsp:// (it's the last fallback as it's always available). Live radio uses a mixture of mms:// and rtsp:// . XBMC ususally uses "Cache unknown" for these so try modifing that if a progress bar with a large cache value pops up.

Cheers
Dink

-----------------------------------------
BBC IPlayer[url=http://drop.io/xbmcdink][/url] Plugin
find quote
rudeboyx Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 750
Joined: Dec 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: Burnley, UK
Post: #43
exactley what dink said.

i set my unknown internet cache to 256kb and then the radio streams buffer as quick as any other audio stream like shoutcast.
find quote
PantsOnFire Offline
Fan
Posts: 597
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #44
Nice idea, I already tried setting unknown cache to 256kb but for me, more often than not the mp3 radio streams on iplayer don't come under that category. And thus continue to cache 4MB before they start. If I set my internet vid cache to 2MB that helps, but it's still not really ideal.
(This post was last modified: 2009-06-01 22:32 by PantsOnFire.)
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,726
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 97
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #45
Thanks to all involved.
find quote
Post Reply