Windows - HOW-TO use Logitech Harmony Universal Remote Control without EventGhost

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
atiinola Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Florence, AL
Thumbs Up  HOW-TO use Logitech Harmony Universal Remote Control without EventGhost
Post: #1
Original Post

Quote:First, i'd like to say thanks to the developers and the forum members. XBMC is a great media center software and the amount of information on the forum, while overwhelming, is extremely helpful. Since i've received so much information from the forum, i was hoping this might help someone else with a Harmony remote.
While searching for information regarding the Harmony remote and keymapping, i found a post on the Logitech forums. When inputting a new device using the logitech software and the manufacturer as microsoft, the model can be put in as MCE Keyboard. This doesn't show up in the menu, but is available when typed in. I then mapped the harmony keys to keyboard strokes within the Harmony software. I can now use the remote with XBMC without Event Ghost or any other keymapping software running.
I am still trying to learn more specifics of how XBMC works so that i can fine tune my key mappings. I have not yet figured out a way to get the Harmony to output a double key press. If i can figure out a way to do this, XBMC could be started using a hotkey combination. If anyone can help, i would appreciate it.

EDIT by Zag for a proper guide (November 2012)
Step 1
Load up the Logitech software
Devices >> Add Device >> Computer >> Media PC >> Microsoft >> "MCE Keyboard"

[Image: 1.png]

Step 2
Activities >> Add devices such as TV, Amplifier and "Microsoft Media Center PC".
Setup new "HTPC" activity with all your devices and order which they should be switched on and sources used.

[Image: 2.png]

Step 3
Activities >> "HTPC" >> Customize Buttons as below,

[Image: 3.png]

[Image: 4.png]

Step 4 - Optimizing Remote speed

Devices >> Media Center PC >> Settings >> Adjust the Delays (speed settings)
0/1000/500

Devices >> Media Center PC >> troubleshooting >> My Media Center PC is responding too slowly
0

Devices >> Media Center PC >> troubleshooting >> My Media Center PC responds to some commands either too many times or only occasionally.
0
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-11 14:57 by zag.)
find quote
mykaln Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
What IR receiver are you using?
find quote
automated Offline
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I'm pretty sure it has to be the official Microsoft receiver. I am about to try this, should be far easier than using eventghost.

edit; That was really simple, just chose MCE Keyboard in the harmony setup under the manufacturer Microsoft. Setup the buttons for xbmc keys and it was done. It works much much better than with the mce remote selected, and I think eventghost might have been introducing some delay aswell.
(This post was last modified: 2009-07-14 04:35 by automated.)
find quote
atiinola Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Florence, AL
Post: #4
That was my experience as well. The remote seemed much more responsive. I made a few minor changes to the keymapping file for opening certain windows and mapped them to special keys. I also set up one of the unused function keys to open XBMC from the desktop. I had tried event ghost, but this method was much simpler for me. I am using an mce receiver.
find quote
Maverick-DBZ- Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2005
Reputation: 0
Location: USA, California
Post: #5
Cool post, after reading how really easy this is I'll be trying this later today. Cool

:)
find quote
Jesse Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
This helped me drastically, thanks
find quote
newg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Please excuse my ignorance but I am just moving over to Windows from the Xbox... which IR receiver are you guys using? Is it the xbox dvd remote using a xbox to usb adapter or the MCE IR receiver?
find quote
automated Offline
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
newg Wrote:Please excuse my ignorance but I am just moving over to Windows from the Xbox... which IR receiver are you guys using? Is it the xbox dvd remote using a xbox to usb adapter or the MCE IR receiver?

It's the MCE IR Receiver.
find quote
garvani Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 158
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Post: #9
atiinola Wrote:I made a few minor changes to the keymapping file for opening certain windows and mapped them to special keys. I also set up one of the unused function keys to open XBMC from the desktop. I had tried event ghost, but this method was much simpler for me. I am using an mce receiver.

Since this is now a stickied post, could you please post your keymaps etc, show screenshots of how you did all this, so people can get the most out of the thread (including myself.. Smile
find quote
garvani Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 158
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Post: #10
Ive figured out most commands, and configured xbmc to start using irserver suites translator..
Anyways im not having any luck with the coloured "teletxt" buttons.. really want the ability to jump straight to the home screen, amonst other functions that these keys will allow (is there a way to jump to movies, or is that what MyVideos does??) Anyways heres the relevant keymap.xml entries if someone could please look and tell me where im going wrong

Code:
<myvideo>XBMC.ActivateWindow(MyVideos)</myvideo>
      <mymusic>XBMC.ActivateWindow(MyMusic)</mymusic>
      <mypictures>XBMC.ActivateWindow(MyPictures)</mypictures>
      <mytv>XBMC.ActivateWindow(Home)</mytv>

Edit: Figured it out Smile.. For future reference for anyone else, you need to change the IRSSMAP.xml as well.. This is what it will look like:

Code:
<mytv>31652</mytv> <!-- red -->
<mymusic>31651</mymusic> <!-- green -->
<mypictures>31650</mypictures> <!-- yellow -->
<myvideo>31649</myvideo> <!-- blue -->

and this is what it needs to look like for the logitech to work:
Code:
    <mytv>31669</mytv> <!-- red -->
        <mymusic>31672</mymusic> <!-- green -->
        <mypictures>31670</mypictures> <!-- yellow -->
        <myvideo>31673</myvideo> <!-- blue -->

Back to another question tho, is there a better way to to go directly to the movie library!? im using xbmc.activatewindow(videolibrary,movietitles) and its no good.. it dosnt take me into the library, it takes me to a very broken looking screen that looks like it could be some bad skinning, but im sure its because its not calling the window properly (using aeon showmix). Does anyone have it working properly? Thanks! time for sleep, argh work in 5 hours.. damn you xbmc and logitech!
(This post was last modified: 2009-07-21 14:51 by garvani.)
find quote
linko Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
This is great news, thanks for sharing. Will try later today
find quote
Jesse Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
mykaln Wrote:What IR receiver are you using?

Im using the antec veris multimedia station ez and it works mostly fine. The only issue i have is when xbmc tweaks out thinking im pressing a directional button a million times. This may be due to lack of delay on my harmony software, but it only happens when i press one button repeatedly in quick succession. Any thoughts anyone? Higher delay maybe? Any recommended delay settings?
find quote
Jesse Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Jesse Wrote:Im using the antec veris multimedia station ez and it works mostly fine. The only issue i have is when xbmc tweaks out thinking im pressing a directional button a million times. This may be due to lack of delay on my harmony software, but it only happens when i press one button repeatedly in quick succession. Any thoughts anyone? Higher delay maybe? Any recommended delay settings?

This is really starting to annoy me when trying to scroll through TV shows or movies. Anyone got any input?
find quote
ferni Offline
Donor
Posts: 13
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
garvani Wrote:Ive figured out most commands, and configured xbmc to start using irserver suites translator..
Anyways im not having any luck with the coloured "teletxt" buttons.. really want the ability to jump straight to the home screen, amonst other functions that these keys will allow (is there a way to jump to movies, or is that what MyVideos does??) Anyways heres the relevant keymap.xml entries if someone could please look and tell me where im going wrong

Code:
<myvideo>XBMC.ActivateWindow(MyVideos)</myvideo>
      <mymusic>XBMC.ActivateWindow(MyMusic)</mymusic>
      <mypictures>XBMC.ActivateWindow(MyPictures)</mypictures>
      <mytv>XBMC.ActivateWindow(Home)</mytv>

Edit: Figured it out Smile.. For future reference for anyone else, you need to change the IRSSMAP.xml as well.. This is what it will look like:

Code:
<mytv>31652</mytv> <!-- red -->
<mymusic>31651</mymusic> <!-- green -->
<mypictures>31650</mypictures> <!-- yellow -->
<myvideo>31649</myvideo> <!-- blue -->

and this is what it needs to look like for the logitech to work:
Code:
    <mytv>31669</mytv> <!-- red -->
        <mymusic>31672</mymusic> <!-- green -->
        <mypictures>31670</mypictures> <!-- yellow -->
        <myvideo>31673</myvideo> <!-- blue -->

Back to another question tho, is there a better way to to go directly to the movie library!? im using xbmc.activatewindow(videolibrary,movietitles) and its no good.. it dosnt take me into the library, it takes me to a very broken looking screen that looks like it could be some bad skinning, but im sure its because its not calling the window properly (using aeon showmix). Does anyone have it working properly? Thanks! time for sleep, argh work in 5 hours.. damn you xbmc and logitech!

Here is what i do to jump straight to the library or video pages. Map the logitech button to the F1, F2 buttons etc... and then map those buttons in the keymap.xml file as below: Note the 'Downloads' 'Movies' etc is the name of the source.

<keymap>
<Global>
<keyboard>
<f1>ActivateWindow(videolibrary,tvshowtitles)</f1>
<f2>ActivateWindow(videofiles,Downloads)</f2>
<f3>ActivateWindow(videofiles,Movies)</f3>
</keyboard>
</Global>
</keymap>
find quote
Jesse Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Edit:

Looks like 100/1000 delay settings helps enough to make it usable. durrrr....
(This post was last modified: 2009-08-04 10:29 by Jesse.)
find quote
Post Reply