Fix for __wrap___printf_chk undefined symbol segfault
FWIW, this is how I fixed segfaults I was getting on Fedora 10 and Fedora 11 builds of XBMC involving an unresolved symbol in the ImageLib .so library.

The segfaults I get give this type of output to stderr when launching xbmc from the commandline:

Code:
/usr/share/xbmc/xbmc.bin: symbol lookup error:
/usr/share/xbmc/system/ImageLib-x86_64-linux.so: undefined symbol:
__wrap___printf_chk

Somebody else gets unresolved symbol errors for the same lib function in libexif-i486-linux.so, as noted in the forum link posted below.

Note, this is a link to another post in another topic here on the forums. Not sure if anybody is paying attention to that thread anymore but since unresolved symbols with wrapper functions defined in wrapper.c seems to happen to a few folks, I thought it might be worth posting a new topic with link to the other post:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=434162&postcount=5

I'm not an XBMC developer. But maybe the XBMC developers could evaluate this patch and do something useful with it.

It may be that an "#ifdef FORTIFY_SOURCE" would be a better test than a particular defined value. But if I don't remove the condition that prevents building these wrapper functions (evidently FORTIFY_SOURCE is not >1 on Fedora 10/11), I get a lot of segfaults, especially when trying to use skins like Aeon.

Cheers,
PharaohsPaw
patch is unacceptable - we have no idea what those functions might be if that define is not set. figure out how to do it properly, i.e. which bastardization of what normal distros do the fedora guys chose this time ;P
#if __GNUC__ > 4 || (__GNUC__ == 4 && __GNUC_MINOR__ >= 1)

is an alternative perhaps
hmm, no. not good enough. all docu i can find fedora enabled this back in 2007 though so it's quite weird.