Emulators (NES, SNES, etc) in XBMC Live?
Hello all,

I'm a complete newb to XBMC and Linux. I've got an install of LIVE on an Aspire Revo 1600. I've been pulling my hair out the last couple days trying to figure out how to get emulators to run on this thing. I've searched through this forum before posting, so hopefully someone can help.

I've tried using launcher to launch FCEU, but it just tells me it's loading and then doesn't fire up any program. I've tried using Arcade Browser by RedSandro. I'm not sure I'm setting up the emulators.ini correctly, but that's not working either. It says there's no valid rom cache and then when it scans it hangs on "building ROM list" and never actually does anything.

I'm stumped. Is this even possible..? Or should I just install Ubuntu on this thing and run XBMC on that platform? I'm chalking this up to complete lack of knowledge...so I would greatly appreciate any help. Thank you!
It might be worth trying regular ubuntu. The emulators may have dependencies that live doesn't provide.

Edit: didn't see your last line. Yes, with a 'total lack of knowledge' I'd definitely just go with regular ubuntu.
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search and search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please read how to submit a proper bug report.

If you're interested in writing addons for xbmc, read docs and how-to for plugins and scripts ||| http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-addons/
In the same boat here, but I got a little further with the Launcher script. I am able to bring up an emulator, in my case zsnes, with a selected rom from the Launcher interface. You may want to manually edit the launchers.xml file to ensure your settings are correct. You can find it in:

~/.xbmc/userdata/plugin_data/programs/Launcher/launchers.xml

Here is mine for reference

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="yes"?>
<launchers>
        <launcher>
                <name>Zsnes</name>