• 1(current)
Adding new password dialog to protect share access
hi,

i've written a simple digit-based password protection for locking access to any drive or share.  this is my first time writing code in c++, but i've written stuff in assembly, c#, vb5 and various scripting languages so i was able to stumble my way through it after ingesting a sufficient amount of caffeine...

currently i'm using a new guiwindowpassword dialog, which i copied from guiwindowyesno and modified to have an onscreen digit keypad.  i added reading two new tags <lockmode> and <lockcode> from the bookmarks in xboxmediacenter.xml, and check the lockmode value in the havediscorconnection functions throughout the app.  currently if lockmode is set to 1, i show the new password dialog and verify the input against the lockcode string.  i also changed the menus so that they load defaultlocked.png as the share item's icon if its lock value is greater than zero.

i've got it all working right now, but before i submit my first patch i want to implement a few more things:
- shutting down xbmc after exhausting the specified # of max retries (i count and display # of retries now, but it gets lost every time the dialog is closed)
- "remembering" when a share has already been unlocked (currently it prompts for password every time you reopen the share), and reverting the share icon from defaultlocked.png to its normal icon in subsequent menus
- allow user to specify in the config file settings whether password characters are displayed or hidden (1234 vs ****) and what the max # of retries are before shutdown

also on the to-do list, if time permits and you guys think it useful:
- enable digit input directly from remote control keypad