XBMC reboots my PC
I have a Dell Zino running Windows 7 Ultimate x64 and a QNap NAS drive where I store my video's.

I can start XMBC but as soon as it starts scanning for content the whole PC just reboots, nothing written to any log files or anything else I can see.

I just don't know where to look, anyone with any tips ?

Thanks
MartynK Wrote:I have a Dell Zino running Windows 7 Ultimate x64 and a QNap NAS drive where I store my video's.

I can start XBMC but as soon as it starts scanning for content the whole PC just reboots, nothing written to any log files or anything else I can see.

I just don't know where to look, anyone with any tips ?

Thanks

This could be a heat issue... I've had problems with my Zino overheating and locking up / rebooting / etc.

What chip do you have in it?
Run CoreTemp and use the logging feature. Let us know what the temps are before it reboots.
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
Yes, I did think of this so I have switched off for a while and then tried again, but no luck. I can leave the machine on for days and it will run any program without issue except XMBC.
I have not had any issues with XBMC causing a reboot. Since you have not provided any other information on system config there is not much I can help you with other then having you ensure you have all the latest drivers installed and use a stable XBMC release.
Turn off that windows setting that makes it reboot on a bluescreen, then you can actually get an error message.
Well I think I can definatly say its XMBC, the machine has been running fine now for a couple of days without issue. I start XBMC, do nothing other than let it sit there at the main menu and after a few mins the machine reboots.

The spec of the machine is:
AMD Athlon Neo X2 Dual Core 6850e 1.80GHz
4gb Memory
500gb drive
Windows Ultimate x64

The wireless network adapter has been switched off and I am connected to a 100mb network switch via cable.