XBMC on apple tv, help for a total NOOB
Hi,

i was planning on buying an ION 2 system to run with win7 and XBMC, now the apple tv got my attention due to this site, it is cheap, goodlooking an can run XBMC apparently...

But is there a complete idiot proof manual on how to install the xbmc on the apple tv? And will it have the same codec compatibilty as a PC?

Futhermore has it Audio thrue hdmi? or it is it an extra connection?

thx for pointing me in the right direction...

Another option would be someone in Belgium willing to help me out, I would cover costs! (if reasonable)

thx,

Peter

:o

ps. one last thing i saw some youtube vids... is it possible to have XBMC boot up? I do not need the Apple tv interface, the XBMC is perfect for me, and has a good WAF! (wife acceptance factor) thxxxx
I would suggest you roll with an Ion based system, most people here wouldn't recommend you get an Apple TV if your intent is to run XBMC on it, we're more of a "trying to do the best we can, with the hardware we already own" type of crowd.

Or, if you are tied to the hip in Apple's ecosystem (or want to be).

Zotac makes a very small Ion/Ion2 based system that will provide full 1080p playback of any HD file, provided you run the Linux build of XBMC with VDPAU.
AppleTV is limited to SD content in its standard form, if you add a broadcom decoder card to it and remove the wifi card it will do hd content too. Its relatively stable now, but is still under development.

As mentioned above, if your are looking to buy hardware i wouldn't buy a atv as there are better choices available.

The current cheapest device available that is cable of full 1080p decoding is the single core acer revo with 1gb of ram. It is more than capable of this and can be picked up for about £150 / $200.
Philmatic, the zotac was indeed my choice for now... i am waiting for the Zotac Zbox to come out in Belgium!
smalla Wrote:Hi,