Keyboard/Remote stops working after 5 mins
Hi all, I am new to this but REALLY have tried finding the answer to this question but with no joy on XBMC forums or Google etc. Here goes:

My keyboard/remote stops working after 5 mins, it almost seems like they go into some kind of sleep mode because if I touch the mouse and activate click a button on the mouse....everything seems to 'wake up' again and resumes working.

I am using the Hauppauge 45 button remote and would assume it was the remote if it wasn't affecting my keyboard too.

I am probably not activating something but would love some help please guys as I think XBMC is awesome!! Thanks in advance.
That's odd. Can you give us more info about OS and mouse/keyboard hardware?
In Windows the remote emulates a keyboard, so it's not surprising both the mouse and keyboard are affected together.

I wonder if XBMC is losing the focus and therefore not receiving the keyboard messages. Try using alt-tab on the keyboard to switch back to XBMC and see if that fixes it.

JR
Thanks for replying JR & Orbi,

I tried the alt/tab option last night too and i'm afraid that didn't seem to work either.

Here are my details as requested:
Dell Optiplex 755
Hauppauge WinTv Nova-T Stick with Hauppauge 45 buttoned remote.
An old Technika USB keyboard that I found in my loft.
Windows XP Professional 32 bit
USB mouse
Latest Build of XBMC

I hope that this is enough info, if any more needed please let me know.

Bob
Just another point that might be worth mentioning.

This problem does not occur when I am in 'fullscreen' but the reason I had to switch over to 'using a fullscreen window rather than a true fullscreen' was because XBMC kept on minimizing the window on video playback and music playback. I found this little fix on the forums to switch over to using a fullscreen window and it solved the minimizing issue but now I as I say I lose the remote after a fairly short period of time.
Do you work with 2 screens?