change resolution through ssh

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
da-bitsch Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi i am running linux on a apple tv with xbmc loaded to it. It is being outputted to a 720p tv, but i messed up the screen resolution so i can't see anytihng Smile - is there a way to change the output resolution of xbmc through SSH? (I am a linux noob btw)
find quote
AuXBoX Offline
Fan
Posts: 443
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 8
Post: #2
da-bitsch Wrote:Hi i am running linux on a apple tv with xbmc loaded to it. It is being outputted to a 720p tv, but i messed up the screen resolution so i can't see anytihng Smile - is there a way to change the output resolution of xbmc through SSH? (I am a linux noob btw)

try deleting ~/.xbmc/userdata/guisettings.xml
then reboot
or edit that file to your correct display settings

+ REP if I Help
find quote
jawilljr Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 5
Post: #3
Try xrandr, to set the resolution to 1280 X 720 use this command:

Code:
xrandr -s 1280x720

Note the 'x' has to be lower case.

Jerry
find quote
essence25 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Now this command does not work via ssh, only on a shell from within X.

If this is done from a remote machine I get: Can't open display

I'd like to switch XBMC from 720p to 480p on the fly, and this seems the best way to do it from a remote machine..

Anyone know how to do this?
find quote
Praesten Offline
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
export DISPLAY=:0.0

That makes the output go to the display and you should be able to use xrandr then
find quote
ruuk Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,497
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 182
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #6
xrandr -d :0.0 -s 1280x720
should work also, unfortunately it won't necessarily change the size of the XBMC "window" itself.

[Image: sig.jpg]
find quote
bugiam Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
ruuk: I registered just to say thank you. THANK YOU.
I've been fighting with my HTPC for days about this. You saved me and my wife's minds. Thank you. We could kiss you.
find quote
dlaporte Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Hi,

This is the most relevant post I could find to my problem and have been trying to reach the same resolution.

I have a problem with my TV not supporting the HDMI output from XBMC. I can view the boot screen with the R but then the screen just goes blank. It's a fairly crap TV so I'm almost sure it's just that the TV isn't supporting the output settings from XBMC. The tv works fine with other Pi installations.

I have tried the steps above to change the settings through SSH but just get a message of "-bash: xrandr: command not found"

Anyone able to give any suggestions?

Thanks
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,621
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 87
Post: #9
sudo apt-get install x11-xserver-utils
find quote
dlaporte Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Thank you for the quick response. I'm now getting a "can't open display: 0.0" message.

I've tried using "export DISPLAY=:0.0" and tried with or without monitor attached but not having any luck.
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,621
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 87
Post: #11
does this work:

DISPLAY=:0 xrandr -q

if not:
sudo apt-get install pastebinit
pastebinit /var/log/Xorg.0.log
find quote
dlaporte Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Unable to read from: /var/log/Xorg.0.log
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,931
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 139
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #13
Next time you highjack a thread, make sure that you tell in bold letters, that you are running a PI and no Xserver at all ...
find quote