Any way to hide the taskbar button in windows xp?
I have been using XBMC for a few months now and absolutely love it. I run it on a Windows XP PC with a dual display. It is set up to boot to Monitor 2 (my TV). The only minor problem I am having is when XBMC boots up a button appears on the taskbar of Monitor 1 (my PC screen). Is there any way to get rid of that button entirely or (preferably) have an icon appear in the system tray when XBMC is running?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
There's a lot of software that might help you.
See for example or try a google search for "hide to tray freeware"
Just kill the explorer process. Bring it back with ctrl-alt-del, run, exploere >enter<.
while, your solution is one way to solve this question, i very much doubt he wants to cripple his pc in the process.

My suggestion is to look into various tools that can hide the taskbar entry. If you want to have it as part of the xbmc project feel free to submit a patch.
Malard, you are very correct. This is more of an annoyance than a major problem for me...I would rather not make any changes that may screw up my PC. I recently did a fresh install of Windows and have my system set up just the way I want it, except for this damn button on the taskbar...

I will try to look for a program that will help fix this issue when I get some spare time...in the meantime, anyone else have any suggestions? Anyone have a similar problem and can point me in the right direction as far as which programs may work well/which ones to stay away from?

Again, any help would be much appreciated. Thanks to everyone who has given me suggestions so far.
Oh my... You don't cripple your pc at all. By the kill explorer exe i just meant to end that task! Actually this is by far the safest thing to do and completely reversible in 1 second! Not to mention fiddling with registry is unrequired.