Boxee drops tegra 2?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
russg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Boxee box will ship with intel and not Nvidia Tegra 2.

This is certainly an interesting development as far I am concerned.
find quote
misterpink Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Feb 2010
Reputation: 11
Post: #2
I had all but written off the boxee box as an option based on all the dancing that was being done around weather or not it would be able to support 1080p video.

This change obviously puts the boxee box back into play for a lot of consumers.

Additionally, now that boxee is running on the same platform as googletv, I think the probability that we will see some form of xbmc running on the googletv hardware just rose dramatically.
find quote
Geeba Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,797
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #3
Hmmm still not convinced on the Boxee boxes looks.....
find quote
Starstream Offline
Donor
Posts: 645
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 16
Post: #4
Good news, a small price to pay even if it drove the price up a little bit.

Anandtech has posted a preview of the Intel CE4100 powered Boxee Box.
(This post was last modified: 2010-09-13 19:46 by Starstream.)
find quote
aaronb Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: Colorado
Post: #5
It's available for pre-order on amazon now, priced at $199

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0038JE07O
(This post was last modified: 2010-09-14 12:34 by vdrfan.)
find quote
PatrickVogeli Offline
Fan
Posts: 575
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 8
Location: Cambrils, Tarragona (Catalonia)
Post: #6
I wouldn't care what it has as long as it plays 1080p fine. Where I think they have made a really bad decision is in its design, while it looks nice, where should I put that? Most people have a cabinet (?) where all it AV equipment goes, does it fit there? a more normal shape would have been better..
find quote
dan1son Offline
Fan
Posts: 608
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
PatrickVogeli Wrote:I wouldn't care what it has as long as it plays 1080p fine. Where I think they have made a really bad decision is in its design, while it looks nice, where should I put that? Most people have a cabinet (?) where all it AV equipment goes, does it fit there? a more normal shape would have been better..

I thought that too, until I saw one in person. The thing is tiny. It'll fit anywhere...
find quote
wazzer99 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
just a headup
Pre-order a Boxee Box Now @ Amazon $199, FS
(This post was last modified: 2010-09-14 12:35 by vdrfan.)
find quote
Philmatic Offline
Fan
Posts: 449
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Post: #9
I actually looking forward to running XBMC the most on my Boxee Box. Smile
find quote
poofyhairguy Offline
Resident Hardware Guru
Posts: 2,956
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 49
Post: #10
Makes sense. Nvidia Tegra 2 has seemed disappointing from the get go. You put out a box that does less than ION and its dead in the water....

Mini/Micro ITX Frontend (with SSD) + Mediaserver/NAS + Logitech Harmony + LCD/LED/Plasma TV + Nice AV Receiver + XBMC + USENET + sabnzbd + sickbeard +couchpotato

My Setup--HTPC Building Guide- Start Here--Advice on Hard Drives and SSDs--Mediaserver Guide--Harmony Guide
find quote
saratoga Offline
Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
With 1080p hardware support for pretty much everything Ion did, I wouldn't say it did less. Internally it probably used a lot of the same decoder hardware, and the A9 was performance wise pretty similar to the Atom (and probably faster then a lot of the single processor Atom boxes people have). I think the real problem is that hardware accelerated flash for linux wasn't going to be ready, which would have killed it (boxee is all about shoving a 100 different flash video streams down your throat).
find quote
poofyhairguy Offline
Resident Hardware Guru
Posts: 2,956
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 49
Post: #12
From what I understood the Tegra is more like a Sigma or Broadcom design- works perfectly with material encoding within normal Blu Ray specs, but falls apart with oddly encoded scene files.

Part of the reason I love my ION box (over my AppleTV + Broadcom or my PCH) is that it plays EVERYTHING I throw at it, including terribly encoded scene stuff. So much good HD material is only available through the scene (aka for older stuff that is not on Blu Ray yet but does play in HD on Showtime), and so much of that stuff is poorly encoded. With ION, I don't care.

As far as the flash thing goes, does this mean that the Intel chip will do the decoding? I was hoping the Boxee folks would help push forward a GPU accelerated Flash for Linux.

Mini/Micro ITX Frontend (with SSD) + Mediaserver/NAS + Logitech Harmony + LCD/LED/Plasma TV + Nice AV Receiver + XBMC + USENET + sabnzbd + sickbeard +couchpotato

My Setup--HTPC Building Guide- Start Here--Advice on Hard Drives and SSDs--Mediaserver Guide--Harmony Guide
find quote
saratoga Offline
Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
poofyhairguy Wrote:From what I understood the Tegra is more like a Sigma or Broadcom design- works perfectly with material encoding within normal Blu Ray specs, but falls apart with oddly encoded scene files.

Yeah sorry missed that. I didn't realize Nvidia had screwed up something on the built in H.264 decoder.


poofyhairguy Wrote:As far as the flash thing goes, does this mean that the Intel chip will do the decoding? I was hoping the Boxee folks would help push forward a GPU accelerated Flash for Linux.

Boxee on my Ion system can't play 480p youtube streams without some dropped frames, so they'll have to have some hardware acceleration, probably both for H.264 decode and for alpha blending and colorspace conversion as well.

FWIW flash on some linux systems is hardware accelerated. Android for instance does almost everything in hardware using whatever DSPs are available. Theres just no general cross-distro way to do it. Probably whatever Boxee was going to do wouldn't have worked on normal linux systems.
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,478
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #14
Forget about GPU doing video decoding on these type of platforms, there is a dedicated video decoder present on the chipset.


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
Robgue Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 1
Location: LA
Post: #15
I'm getting one of these. I was worried about the Tegra 2 but I'm for sure getting it now. I would think especially now that it's not arm based and boxee understanding people want some openness running xbmc won't be too far down the pipeline. Well that's my "hope" at least.
Boxee supports xbmc. So I gotta support boxee and put my money where my mouth is.
find quote
Post Reply