Need help - super noob xbmc live user Acer 1600
Hello

This is my first post on the forum. I am sad to say, that even though I am quite embedded in computers software, bit of programming etc, xbmc has flown me by,,until a few days ago.

I read lifehackers guide to a silent xbmc dedicated pc, and ordered the same day.

My setup:

Acer Revo 1600 1GB Ram, 160 GB Harddisk version
I installed the XBMC Live onto it..the machine is now running ONLY the XBMC, as everything else is deleted. Ps, I chose the ubuntu and 10.4 live when setting up my usb iso thingy.

Also, I haven't transfered my movies to the Acer machine, but I have connected my external hd.

My question is:

I have no experience with linux,xbmc or anything..and now I wonder how you copy an emulator and roms to it? As I understand, I have only xbmc,and no operating system, so how? I have read many forums and threads,,talking about codes,scripting addons, etc..but in general,,I cant make sense of the guides.

Also, how do I directly copy, say a movie, from my external hd to the acer machine? (by not using internet, but just from plugging in the external hd into the acer)

Any help would be greatly appreciated =) What should I do with all the coding I read on the threads? Where to write it? I really want NES on my machine =) Where do I install the emulators? ROMS?

Any information is greatly appreciated =)

Mandrake
OK Mandrake i think you might be running before you can walk here my friend.

Linux is a beast to learn and can be very unforgiving to us that are just starting out. You'll constantly make mistakes, i do all the time, but its powerful and great fun.

What i would suggest is starting small and building on knowledge, we've all been there Smile

To install an Emulator in linux (thats what your xbmc is running under, a ubuntu linux stripped down to save space and load up times, its still a full OS) means you will use the command line.