[AppleTV2] ATV2 get's XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
pin87a Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Mar 2004
Reputation: 5
Post: #46
Works great on the iPad. Played all of the video files I have tested so far (720p/1080p) perfectly.

Safe to assume performance on the ATV2 is the same as the iPad (similar hardware specs and all)?
find quote
blacklist Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 814
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 1
Location: Atlanta, Ga, USA
Post: #47
Looks like its finally time for me to pull the trigger on an ATV2. Big Grin
find quote
anothergene Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #48
Just thought of another couple questions:

Can I use my harmony remote set to PLEX like I do with my Mac Mini?

Will it decode vc1 at a high bit rate or is it confined to x.264?
find quote
automated Offline
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #49
I've got a couple of questions ...

1. Does the ATV2 output 1080p?
2. Will it do automatic refresh rate changing (24/50/60)?
3. Is the sound output bitperfect or does it get resampled?
3. Can I use another remote with it instead of the ATV2 remote (Harmony One, set as an MCE remote etc)?
4. If xbmc library metadata is stored locally, how big is the ATV2 storage? will it have any problems with the fanart, covers etc for a large library?
find quote
dtviewer Offline
Fan
Posts: 666
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #50
automated Wrote:I've got a couple of questions ...

1. Does the ATV2 output 1080p?
2. Will it do automatic refresh rate changing (24/50/60)?
3. Is the sound output bitperfect or does it get resampled?
3. Can I use another remote with it instead of the ATV2 remote (Harmony One, set as an MCE remote etc)?
4. If xbmc library metadata is stored locally, how big is the ATV2 storage? will it have any problems with the fanart, covers etc for a large library?

5. How are add-ons handled?
6. Is PM3 the only skin available for the ATV?
7. In the video posted it looked like it was using file mode for the movies. Does Library mode work with all artwork as well?
find quote
blacklist Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 814
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 1
Location: Atlanta, Ga, USA
Post: #51
dtviewer Wrote:5. How are add-ons handled?
6. Is PM3 the only skin available for the ATV?
7. In the video posted it looked like it was using file mode for the movies. Does Library mode work with all artwork as well?

After using it on the Ipad I can answer 6 as no, any skins available in the repository are available, although most are not remotely optimized for a touch screen interface.
find quote
theuni Offline
Team-XBMC Communication Manager
Posts: 1,107
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 2
Location: Atlanta, Ga, USA
Post: #52
dtviewer Wrote:5. How are add-ons handled?
6. Is PM3 the only skin available for the ATV?
7. In the video posted it looked like it was using file mode for the movies. Does Library mode work with all artwork as well?

It's XBMC. Full XBMC. Currently the webserver is disabled, but that will be fixed shortly. Other than that, it should be have the same as on a PC.

TheUni
find quote
edwinmcdunlap Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Oct 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #53
XBMC doesn't seem to be running at full retina display resolution on the iPhone 4; only 480x320. Is there any way to get it working at 960x640?

[Image: emcd_mc360.png]
find quote
davidhildreth Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #54
Did April fools come early? This is amazing.
find quote
altern8 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #55
touser Wrote:Has anyone been able to add a samba share? At the username/password prompt after entering the credentials and hitting done it just pops up again asking for credentials.

works for me, connecting to my windows 2008 r2 server via "domain\username"
find quote
altern8 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #56
can anyone confirm 1080p performance on ATV2? read on engadget that there were occasional frame drops?
find quote
tido2012 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #57
Does anyone know if the Justin tv plugin works for ATV 2 with XBMC? Also, if not, is there anyway to watch live tv on XBMC on ATV 2? The main reason is for watching news channels such as CNN, CNBC, FOX Business, etc on my tv instead of on the computer. Thanks in advance, definitely makes the ATV 2 a much more appealing product now.
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-21 07:23 by tido2012.)
find quote
dazex Offline
Donor
Posts: 539
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #58
On the ATV2, it decodes 1080P source but outputs only 720P.

It appears to play the file smoothly. However, I don't know how to bring up the frame rate counter to see if it drops any frames.

Library mode works just like it does on any other XBMC install. It's essentially the full XBMC experience.

Launching XBMC from the ATV2 Lowtide interface only takes about 5secs. Super fast!

Awesome work XBMC team. I love it so far.
find quote
rdubya Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #59
I'm currently loving it but I have two issues,

1) It's not reading my folder.jpg or filename.tbn files. fanart.jpg shows up great.
2) there seems to be an issue with the overlays (not sure if this is correct) with the default confluence skin. I can see words behind words. when I'm on video I can see all the words that are part of the slide-out menu.

Is this the same for everyone?
find quote
minel Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #60
the reflections are really bad as well... plus it buffers a lot... on the same network (wired) where the Boxee Box ran fine.
find quote
Post Reply