[AppleTV2] Replacing AppleTV Springboard with XBMC at startup possible on ATV2?

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
patranus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Question  [AppleTV2] Replacing AppleTV Springboard with XBMC at startup possible on ATV2?
Post: #1
Anyone know how (if its even possible) to replace the default AppleTV Springboard GUI with XBMC at startup?
find quote
Pete_London Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #2
This would be fantastic... +1 for the request
find quote
pandreas21 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Eastern Mediterranean Sea
Post: #3
+1
find quote
Muuh Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Either a dylib (better solution) or rename XBMC.app to AppleTV.app (can't recommend this)
find quote
shuntros Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
XBMC is not an app as such in the conventional sense, it's a FrontRow appliance which relies on AppleTV.app being loaded.
find quote
Muuh Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
shuntros Wrote:XBMC is not an app as such in the conventional sense, it's a FrontRow appliance which relies on AppleTV.app being loaded.
you're right, just forgot that
find quote
sandboy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Maybie possible to configure so XBMC.app autom start when ATV start?
find quote
El Nacho Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Some people will complain about the smallest detail of anything, just in order to have something to complain about. When you put the ATV to sleep, it resumes right where you left off. You only have to start XBMC once and then you never have to see lowtide again unless the power in your house goes out. Is it really that much of a hassle to input the four keypresses needed to start XBMC the 1-2 times a year that would be necessary?
find quote
patranus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
El Nacho Wrote:Some people will complain about the smallest detail of anything, just in order to have something to complain about. When you put the ATV to sleep, it resumes right where you left off. You only have to start XBMC once and then you never have to see lowtide again unless the power in your house goes out. Is it really that much of a hassle to input the four keypresses needed to start XBMC the 1-2 times a year that would be necessary?

I was in no way trying to complain.

Isn't this entire thing about pushing the jailbreking community into figuring out new things?

Now, on the iPhone there are springboard replacements like pogoboard so obviously someone knows something on the subject.

Its not about bitching or complaining, its about figuring this stuff out.
find quote
jayace Offline
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
El Nacho Wrote:Some people will complain about the smallest detail of anything, just in order to have something to complain about. When you put the ATV to sleep, it resumes right where you left off. You only have to start XBMC once and then you never have to see lowtide again unless the power in your house goes out. Is it really that much of a hassle to input the four keypresses needed to start XBMC the 1-2 times a year that would be necessary?

Chill El Nacho. Nobody was complaining, it was a simple question. That's what makes this forum and community so awesome. If you don't like it, don't read.
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,479
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #11
sandboy Wrote:Maybie possible to configure so XBMC.app autom start when ATV start?

Not at the current time. No one has figured out how to run iOS apps on the AppleTV2.


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
rodrigokay Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
hi if you have nitotv installed install first xbmc thorugh the installer in the nitotv menu after that go again to the installer and go for the search option type boot - first in the list will be boot xbmc plugin install it.

next restart it boots directly into xmbc

hope that helps

rodrigo
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,479
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #13
there's already a method for this.


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 19,844
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 247
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #14
Thank you for bumping this 9 month old thread with information we already had on our FAQ.
find quote
wallace47931 Offline
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Cant beleive the startup script has put my device into a constant crashing loop :-(

Gets to the apple logo then just constantly crashes... tried rebooting, unplugging, reseting etc to no avail

Users beware! Im gonna have to restore and start again :-( and reinstall everything!
find quote
Post Reply