[AppleTV2/iOS] Unofficial builds for testing! NOT FOR THE FAINT HEARTED

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
galvanash Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Mostly my couch
Post: #31
Reverb Wrote:It is only smoother with the Confluence skin? Or if you install another skin it is also a little bit smoother?

It is smoother in confluence, but it is ALOT smoother than it was in the other skins I have tried (xTV and refocus). In both of those virtually all the glitches are gone and performance is dramatically better.

ps. I don't know if it matters or not but the Confluence being distributed with the atv2 build does not have packed textures. I suspect this is because of DXT compression not being supported but I have no idea. xTV and refocus both uses textures.xpr though and they work, but I have not tried a skin using textures.xbt...
find
candre23 Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
Has the need to tether on every reboot been fixed yet? This is the last roadblock that is keeping me from buying several ATV2 units to fit out my whole house.
find
Doombelly Offline
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
First of all thanks to all the people who made XBMC possible on ATV2.

I have installed this new build and everything went well. However i still have problems hearing dialog in various movies/tv-shows.

I hoped this "AC3/DTS Audio Dialogs" would have fixed my problems.

I am using HDMI under 4.1.1 Any ideas?
find
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #34
scadden Wrote:Will this work on the ipad?

http://music.hadm.net/~keith/xbmc_atv2/X...012611.zip

Haven't tested it personally ...

The normal XBMC log IS NOT a debug log, to enable debug logging you must toggle it on under XBMC Settings - System or in advancedsettings.xml. Use XBMC Debug Log Addon to retrieve it.
find
beforeseven Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
candre23 Wrote:Has the need to tether on every reboot been fixed yet? This is the last roadblock that is keeping me from buying several ATV2 units to fit out my whole house.

This has nothing to do with the development of XBMC. Ask the jailbreak community instead.
find
johnnyvibrant Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #36
seems to work fine on the ipad...same advantages as the atv version (and same issues) basically follow the instructions for installing on the atv but use XBMC.app instead of frapp
find
valkur Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Canada
Post: #37
candre23 Wrote:Has the need to tether on every reboot been fixed yet? This is the last roadblock that is keeping me from buying several ATV2 units to fit out my whole house.

Keep an eye on this page http://blog.iphone-dev.org/ We definetly wont see an utethered jailbreak until after 4.3 is officially released (if were lucky). And that probably wont be for at least a couple more weeks.

XBMC is just a program that relies on the jailbreak to be installed.
find
Shoesy Offline
Donor
Posts: 184
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 1
Location: UK
Post: #38
johnnyvibrant Wrote:seems to work fine on the ipad...same advantages as the atv version (and same issues) basically follow the instructions for installing on the atv but use XBMC.app instead of frapp

Any chance you could type out a quick walkthrough on how to update on the ipad... I'm pretty useless at cli.

Check out my stationery blog- http://www.tailormadeinvites.co.uk
find
SPlNeTe Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
I've tried installing the version for the iphone, update the XBMC.app folder with the new version but don't work.

Does anyone else tested this version on the iphone?
find
sb206 Offline
Member
Posts: 79
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
@spinete

Have you make an restart. I think you copy the folder with ssh to the iphone / Ipad, or ?
find
SPlNeTe Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #41
@sb206

I copy the folder with ssh (WinSPC) to the iphone 4 and respring but dont work.
find
keith Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 3
Location: SF, CA
Post: #42
Doombelly Wrote:First of all thanks to all the people who made XBMC possible on ATV2.

I have installed this new build and everything went well. However i still have problems hearing dialog in various movies/tv-shows.

I hoped this "AC3/DTS Audio Dialogs" would have fixed my problems.

I am using HDMI under 4.1.1 Any ideas?

Try disabling 'generate thumbnails' under Settings > Video > File Types I think. That helped with my ac3 audio playback.
find
eXisTa Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Holland
Post: #43
I just tried it and it works great, massive thanks for the web interface!

Minor thing is that the "stash" directory doesn't exist for me (ATV2).
The directory that did it for me was /Applications/XBMC.frapliance/
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-27 19:34 by eXisTa.)
find
keith Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 3
Location: SF, CA
Post: #44
Good job finding my iOS build guys! I haven't had a chance to write up instructions, but essentially its:
1) Install xbmc the normal way: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Ins...Phone/iPad
2) Using Filezilla or whatever SCP/SFTP into the device (after enabling openssh) and copy over the XBMC.app from http://music.hadm.net/~keith/xbmc_atv2/X...012611.zip to /private/var/stash/Applications.pwn
3) run xbmc!

Worked for me on an iPad, 4.2.1.
find
jockethebastard Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #45
Since i installed the new build the sound is coming a bit after the picture, don't know why it's not in sync. Appears to be on mkv files, all my movies are in mkv 720. I'm talking about a split of a second, but i really notice it.
find
Thread Closed