[RELEASE] Weather Plus Addon

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,128
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #31
barcoboy Wrote:As others have already said, I'm very happy to see this working again!

Question regarding weather advisories: how exactly do they work, and where is the data picked up from? There is a winter storm warning currently in effect for Burlington, VT. I saw the top notification appear for ~30 seconds, and the following text scrolled on the bottom of the screen:

WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY FOR BURLINGTON, VERMONT: WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY FOR BURLINGTON, VERMONT - THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE BURLINGTON, VT

Just wondering if this is the normal behavior, or is the text of the actual advisory supposed to appear and scroll at the bottom as well?

it' something i need to fix.
it's currently only showing a brief alert message instead of the full one.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
brightsr Offline
Fan
Posts: 351
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Bridgeport, CT
Post: #32
MegaX Wrote:I have now updated to 1.1.17 and the problem still exists. Sad I have tested it with different locations and skins but always with the same error.

I tested your location, but I didn't see any errors.
Could you uninstall and reinstall it?
find quote
barcoboy Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Canada
Post: #33
ronie Wrote:it' something i need to fix.
it's currently only showing a brief alert message instead of the full one.

OK, thanks for the info ronie. Transparency! rocks!!! Smile
find quote
orion2001 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #34
Wow! Thanks so much! This is really amazing, and finally makes the weather feature actually useful Smile. Thanks a ton. This should definitely be the default with future versions of XBMC.
find quote
phileas50 Offline
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Athens, Greece
Post: #35
Just to clarify. In confluence where (in which directory) do you unzip the files?
find quote
brightsr Offline
Fan
Posts: 351
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Bridgeport, CT
Post: #36
phileas50 Wrote:Just to clarify. In confluence where (in which directory) do you unzip the files?

xbmc\addons\skin.confluence
find quote
phileas50 Offline
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Athens, Greece
Post: #37
brightsr Wrote:xbmc\addons\skin.confluence

For the life of me I cannot find such a directory in appdata\roaming\xbmc\addons.... Windows 7 system....
find quote
Harro Offline
Donor
Posts: 363
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 10
Post: #38
Try looking here

C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\addons\skin.confluence
find quote
dnairb Offline
Donor
Posts: 99
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #39
Note: This applies to the Confluence skin

dnairb Wrote:I have discovered a minor issue with the GUI - due to user error mainly, but it may be fixable. It is regarding the use of remote left/right buttons when viewing Current Conditions, 36 Hour Forecast and Weekend Forecast:

Current Conditions: "left" opens the settings pop-out thingy, "right" loses focus and navigation is impossible with remote.
36 Hour Forecast: Same as Current Conditions above
Hourly Forecast: "left" opens the settings pop-out thingy, "right" brings focus to the scrollbar, navigation OK with remote.
Weekend Forecast: Same as Current Conditions above
10 Day Forecast: Works OK - Same as Hourly forecast above

I believe I have found a solution to this issue. Bear with me as I detail each file to edit:


36Hour.xml

Change lines 6 and 7, and add line 8 below:

Code:
1    <includes>
2        <include name="TWC.36Hour.Button">
3             <control type="button" id="13201">
4                <include>TWC.ButtonCommon</include>
5                <label>31901</label>
6                <[b]onfocus[/b]>SetProperty(Weather.CurrentView,$LOCALIZE[31901] $LOCALIZE[31911])</[b]onfocus[/b]>
7                <[b]onfocus[/b]>SetProperty(Weather.CurrentViewMenu,$LOCALIZE[31901])</[b]onfocus[/b]>
8                [b]<onright>SetFocus(2000)</onright>[/b]
9             </control>
10       </include>


Alerts.xml

Change lines 6 and 7 only:

Code:
1    <includes>
2        <include name="TWC.Alerts.Button">
3            <control type="button" id="13206">
4                <include>TWC.ButtonCommon</include>
5                <label>31906</label>
6                <[b]onfocus[/b]>SetProperty(Weather.CurrentView,$LOCALIZE[31906] - $LOCALIZE[31913])</[b]onfocus[/b]>
7                <[b]onfocus[/b]>SetProperty(Weather.CurrentViewMenu,$LOCALIZE[31906])</[b]onfocus[/b]>
8                <enable>!IsEmpty(Window.Property(Alerts))</enable>
9             </control>
10       </include>


Current.xml

Change lines 6 and 7, and add line 8 below:

Code:
1    <includes>
2        <include name="TWC.Current.Button">
3            <control type="button" id="13205">
4                <include>TWC.ButtonCommon</include>
5                <label>31905</label>
6                <[b]onfocus[/b]>SetProperty(Weather.CurrentView,$LOCALIZE[31905] $LOCALIZE[31912])</[b]onfocus[/b]>
7                <[b]onfocus[/b]>SetProperty(Weather.CurrentViewMenu,$LOCALIZE[31905])</[b]onfocus[/b]>
8                [b]<onright>SetFocus(2000)</onright>[/b]
9            </control>
10       </include>


Daily.xml

Change lines 6 and 7 only:

Code:
1    <includes>
2        <include name="TWC.Daily.Button">
3            <control type="button" id="13204">
4                <include>TWC.ButtonCommon</include>
5                <label>31904</label>
6                <[b]onfocus[/b]>SetProperty(Weather.CurrentView,$LOCALIZE[31904] $LOCALIZE[31911])</[b]onfocus[/b]>
7                <[b]onfocus[/b]>SetProperty(Weather.CurrentViewMenu,$LOCALIZE[31904])</[b]onfocus[/b]>
8            </control>
9        </include>


Hourly.xml

Change lines 6 and 7 only:

Code:
1    <includes>
2        <include name="TWC.Hourly.Button">
3            <control type="button" id="13202">
4                <include>TWC.ButtonCommon</include>
5                <label>31902</label>
6                <[b]onfocus[/b]>SetProperty(Weather.CurrentView,$LOCALIZE[31902] $LOCALIZE[31911])</[b]onfocus[/b]>
7                <[b]onfocus[/b]>SetProperty(Weather.CurrentViewMenu,$LOCALIZE[31902])</[b]onfocus[/b]>
8            </control>
9        </include>


Maps.xml

Change lines 6 and 7 only:

Code:
1    <includes>
2        <include name="TWC.Maps.Button">
3            <control type="button" id="13200">
4                <include>TWC.ButtonCommon</include>
5                <label>31900</label>
6                <[b]onfocus[/b]>SetProperty(Weather.CurrentView,$LOCALIZE[31900] - $LOCALIZE[31910])</[b]onfocus[/b]>
7                <[b]onfocus[/b]>SetProperty(Weather.CurrentViewMenu,$LOCALIZE[31900])</[b]onfocus[/b]>
8            </control>
9        </include>


Weekend.xml

Change lines 6 and 7, and add line 8 below:

Code:
1    <includes>
2        <include name="TWC.Weekend.Button">
3            <control type="button" id="13203">
4                <include>TWC.ButtonCommon</include>
5                <label>31903</label>
6                <[b]onfocus[/b]>SetProperty(Weather.CurrentView,$LOCALIZE[31903] $LOCALIZE[31911])</[b]onfocus[/b]>
7                <[b]onfocus[/b]>SetProperty(Weather.CurrentViewMenu,$LOCALIZE[31903])</[b]onfocus[/b]>
8                [b]<onright>SetFocus(2000)</onright>[/b]
9            </control>
10       </include>

With these changes, each view appears as the mouse cursor rolls over each button (or each button is highlighted via the remote) rather than clicking on each option. To view the video, click on the option as before. Focus is not lost whichever remote button is pressed (up/down/left/right)
find quote
phileas50 Offline
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Athens, Greece
Post: #40
Harro Wrote:Try looking here

C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\addons\skin.confluence

Found it thank you all.
find quote
fiddystorms Offline
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #41
Harro Wrote:Try looking here

C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\addons\skin.confluence

Can this be run in aTV2?
find quote
dynaflash Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
Hmm installed with a svn version of Transparency on an appletv 1 running linux chd. got a script error at first. Oddly turning off the default "Translate Text (Babelfish)" solved it. Dunno what it does but in my case it causes a script error here. Might help someone trying it. Otherwise fantastic plug in. Kudos!
find quote
brightsr Offline
Fan
Posts: 351
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Bridgeport, CT
Post: #43
dynaflash Wrote:Hmm installed with a svn version of Transparency on an appletv 1 running linux chd. got a script error at first. Oddly turning off the default "Translate Text (Babelfish)" solved it. Dunno what it does but in my case it causes a script error here. Might help someone trying it. Otherwise fantastic plug in. Kudos!

Could you post your xbmc.log file?
I'd really like to see the errors.
find quote
dynaflash Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
brightsr Wrote:Could you post your xbmc.log file?
I'd really like to see the errors.

Yep, here is what I get right after start up http://pastebin.com/rtXRkvHB

I am using Transparency (svn) and the basic temp etc shows on the main screen but anything extended just shows a grayed out icon and no data.

Please let me know if you need anything else to troubleshoot.

Edit: Okay so I went back in and turned bablefish translation back on and now it works ? Hmm, strange. It rocks but for whatever the reason deosn't want to work upon first install. Hmmm. Not sure whats causing it to work then not work. Thoughts ?

Second Edit: well it appears that installing simplejson from http://ftp.heanet.ie/mirrors/xbmc/addons...implejson/ has fixed the instability for now. My older ubuntu linux install on atv1 apparently did not support it. Dunno much about linux unfortunately but installing this seems to have fixed changing local weather locations etc. and made it much more stable. Will continue testing on various appletv linux xbmc installs to verify.
(This post was last modified: 2011-03-04 20:56 by dynaflash.)
find quote
brightsr Offline
Fan
Posts: 351
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Bridgeport, CT
Post: #45
dynaflash Wrote:Yep, here is what I get right after start up http://pastebin.com/rtXRkvHB

I am using Transparency (svn) and the basic temp etc shows on the main screen but anything extended just shows a grayed out icon and no data.

Please let me know if you need anything else to troubleshoot.

Edit: Okay so I went back in and turned bablefish translation back on and now it works ? Hmm, strange. It rocks but for whatever the reason deosn't want to work upon first install. Hmmm. Not sure whats causing it to work then not work. Thoughts ?

Second Edit: well it appears that installing simplejson from http://ftp.heanet.ie/mirrors/xbmc/addons...implejson/ has fixed the instability for now. My older ubuntu linux install on atv1 apparently did not support it. Dunno much about linux unfortunately but installing this seems to have fixed changing local weather locations etc. and made it much more stable. Will continue testing on various appletv linux xbmc installs to verify.

I don't know much about linux or atv, and I've been testing only on windows 7.
So unfortuately, I cannot help with any concerns or problems about another platforms rather than PC.

And I think babelfish translation is not completely stable.
Unless you really need to turn on it, please turn it off.
(This post was last modified: 2011-03-05 22:57 by brightsr.)
find quote
Post Reply