New HTPC Build
Hi guys,
I'm new to the world of XBMC but have been lurking the forums for a while now with the aim of building an HTPC to put XBMC on.

I am finally going to bite the bullet and buy the following:

CPU: Intel E6700 3.2GHz 2MB Cache
RAM: 2GB DDR3
VGA: Palit GT520 1024MB
MOBO: ASROCK G41MH/USB3 R2.0
CASE: Techsolo TC-020 mATX Case

Firstly, I'm not sure what OS should I install on the new system and am also not sure whether to buy an SSD or USB3 Flash Drive, or connect a 2.5" 320GB Hitachi I have lying around. I have an unRAID system which will be connected with GigE so am not sure if I should store the XBMC database on it.

Does SSD only affect boot-up times, or it also affects the user interface when scrolling etc? Would storing the XBMC database on my GigE server provide similar results to SSD or perhaps the 2.5" mechanical drive?

I'm not planning to do anything rather than XBMC (no video encoding, gaming etc), so would it be a good idea to use OpenELEC on a USB3.0 flash drive? What about the location of the XBMC database then: should I still store the database on the unRAID Server using GigE?

Thank you for your time!
If your not planning to do anything rather than XBMC,

then openELEC is your best choice,,,

Run it from a USB flash drive,,,

Get a pre-built system like the ZOTAC ND22....

add at least 1GB 204Pin DDR3 1066 of ram to the ZOTAC and thats it,,,,

XBMC database is contained on the USB Flash drive,,,

and you'll be able to stream your movies from your unRAID server,,,,
Honestly, I wouldn't buy any LGA775 parts new (unless they were 50-70% off) - if you have them lying around doing nothing then by all means.
Thanks for your reply eskro! I'd rather get a custom-build mATX system than a ZOTAC for various reasons.... I live in Malta and we have very high temperatures all year round, so I prefer to avoid fanless components!