Which CODEC pack do you use?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
THRobinson Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Zurich, ON (Canada)
Post: #1
Been using the KLite Codec Pack (Full) for a few years now, never had any issues, but figured after a few years maybe time to see if something else is out there that may be better, especially since I never used MKV/MP4's until a few months ago when I started using XBMC.

Just wondered which CODEC packs you guys use for Win7, and why?

Nerd

Operating System: Win7 64-Bit Pro w/SP1
System: Intel Core2Quad 2.67Ghz Q9450/ 4GB PC6400 DDR2 Memory/ Asus GTX 650 Ti BOOST OC 2GB
XBMC Build: Gotham 13.0
Remote: Sony Remote (RM-VZ320) and HP Receiver (5188-1667)
Display: 40" Sony Bravia HDTV
find quote
Ballistic Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #2
How about None?
find quote
THRobinson Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Zurich, ON (Canada)
Post: #3
Ballistic Wrote:How about None?

Does XBMC come with it's own CODECS?

With all the various codecs used for making mkv, mp4, avi, and different audio channels like mp3, aac, ac3, dts... you need something installed no?

I had Firefly MKV files where the audio didn't work, re-encoded them leaving the video untouched and switching audio to MP3 and works fine now. Files worked before on my system before I wiped it out and reinstalled everything so, suspect was a missing codec.

Operating System: Win7 64-Bit Pro w/SP1
System: Intel Core2Quad 2.67Ghz Q9450/ 4GB PC6400 DDR2 Memory/ Asus GTX 650 Ti BOOST OC 2GB
XBMC Build: Gotham 13.0
Remote: Sony Remote (RM-VZ320) and HP Receiver (5188-1667)
Display: 40" Sony Bravia HDTV
find quote
>>X<< Offline
Alaska Group
Posts: 2,901
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: On a farm trying to catch a fox
Post: #4
XBMC is not a directshow player install as many codecs as you like they will have no effect in XBMC

Current HTPC Lian-Li PC-C37 • Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H • Intel C2D E8400 E0 Stepping • OCZ Vertex SSD • 4GB Corsair TwinX XMS2 DDR2 • Corsair HX650W Modular PSU (Free Upgrade) • LG CH08LS10 Blu-Ray Drive • Scythe Big Shuriken • Acousti DustPROOF 70mm Fan
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #5
THRobinson Wrote:Does XBMC come with it's own CODECS?

With all the various codecs used for making mkv, mp4, avi, and different audio channels like mp3, aac, ac3, dts... you need something installed no?

I had Firefly MKV files where the audio didn't work, re-encoded them leaving the video untouched and switching audio to MP3 and works fine now. Files worked before on my system before I wiped it out and reinstalled everything so, suspect was a missing codec.
XBMC use its codecs. After you wiped out everything, did you re-install the latest ATI drive? Did you reconfigure w7 audio output in control panel. Did you reconfigure XBMC audio output?

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
>>X<< Offline
Alaska Group
Posts: 2,901
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: On a farm trying to catch a fox
Post: #6
I hate codec packs just install the ones you need and configure them correctly not just install as many as possible configure nothing and hope one of them works :confused2:

Current HTPC Lian-Li PC-C37 • Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H • Intel C2D E8400 E0 Stepping • OCZ Vertex SSD • 4GB Corsair TwinX XMS2 DDR2 • Corsair HX650W Modular PSU (Free Upgrade) • LG CH08LS10 Blu-Ray Drive • Scythe Big Shuriken • Acousti DustPROOF 70mm Fan
find quote
THRobinson Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Zurich, ON (Canada)
Post: #7
Everything was setup (as far as I know) the same way.

Doesn't matter, converted now. Smile

Just assumed it used codecs the same way as media player... though I suspect a codec pack is still a good thing to have for converting stuff. I'll have to recheck the settings, had a few mkv files recently that if you skip through the video/audio gets choppy and stays that way, but if you hit play at the start and don't touch it it's fine. Assumed was a codec issue, and maybe is... reencoded it to mkv using the default settings in vidcoder and works perfect now. Maybe the original files used a weird codec that xbmc doesn't.

Anyway, I'll give it a go over, see if anything new for ati came out the past few weeks, make sure hardware acceleration is on etc.

Operating System: Win7 64-Bit Pro w/SP1
System: Intel Core2Quad 2.67Ghz Q9450/ 4GB PC6400 DDR2 Memory/ Asus GTX 650 Ti BOOST OC 2GB
XBMC Build: Gotham 13.0
Remote: Sony Remote (RM-VZ320) and HP Receiver (5188-1667)
Display: 40" Sony Bravia HDTV
find quote
THRobinson Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Zurich, ON (Canada)
Post: #8
&gt;&gt;X&lt;&lt; Wrote:I hate codec packs just install the ones you need and configure them correctly not just install as many as possible configure nothing and hope one of them works :confused2:

I'd rather install 1 pack and hope one works vs every other movie giving a codec issue and then trying to hunt down what someone used 4yrs ago to make an avi file. That's why I started using a pack. Seemed to eliminate 99% of my problems install K-lite and leaving at the defaults. Use to get so many avi files with sync issues and no audio, or audio and no video... installed the pack and problems solved.

That was of course when I used WMP... Smile

Packs are great for us 'average joe' end users who wouldn't know how to configure them even if they wanted to.

Operating System: Win7 64-Bit Pro w/SP1
System: Intel Core2Quad 2.67Ghz Q9450/ 4GB PC6400 DDR2 Memory/ Asus GTX 650 Ti BOOST OC 2GB
XBMC Build: Gotham 13.0
Remote: Sony Remote (RM-VZ320) and HP Receiver (5188-1667)
Display: 40" Sony Bravia HDTV
find quote
>>X<< Offline
Alaska Group
Posts: 2,901
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: On a farm trying to catch a fox
Post: #9
THRobinson Wrote:I'd rather install 1 pack and hope one works vs every other movie giving a codec issue and then trying to hunt down what someone used 4yrs ago to make an avi file. That's why I started using a pack. Seemed to eliminate 99% of my problems install K-lite and leaving at the defaults. Use to get so many avi files with sync issues and no audio, or audio and no video... installed the pack and problems solved.

That was of course when I used WMP... Smile

Packs are great for us 'average joe' end users who wouldn't know how to configure them even if they wanted to.

I rest my case Laugh

Current HTPC Lian-Li PC-C37 • Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H • Intel C2D E8400 E0 Stepping • OCZ Vertex SSD • 4GB Corsair TwinX XMS2 DDR2 • Corsair HX650W Modular PSU (Free Upgrade) • LG CH08LS10 Blu-Ray Drive • Scythe Big Shuriken • Acousti DustPROOF 70mm Fan
find quote