To DIY or not to DIY
Another noob here with the same old questions, ive been reading everything i can for the last couple days and cant decided what to do about my htpc issue. Currently i'm using my laptop plugged into the front hdmi port on my onkyo 607 but this isnt ideal.

I first thought about a WD live hub but then thought i'd want more so was thinking the Revo RL70 or Lenovo Q180, spec wise the Q180 seems to come out top with the HD6450 graphics and usb 3.0 etc. These i can get for around £200 in the UK.

I then stumbled across this site and now i dont know what to do, to furture proof myself i'm now thinking a custom build along the lines of a A6-A3500,GA-A75N Mobo,4gb Ram,64gb M4 SSD,Antec ISK110 with 90w psu. This would cost around £300 and i'd use my external 320gb hard drive for now to store media.

I prefer the looks of the ISK110 but may go for the ISK300 with 150w psu so that i could add a blu ray drive later.

I currently dont have 3D or a very large 1080p collection but would like these options in the future. What can the custom build do that a RL70/Q180 cant.

Thanks
For one, you can expand a custom build easier than the RL70/Q180, but....

Depending on your budget,..if it were me, and if I didn't want to go over $350 and be up and running, I'd go with the RL70.
If I had ~$500 to spend,..I'd go A6-3500

The advantage an A6-3500 build has over the RL70/Q180 is that the CPU is powerful enough to handle any software or tasks that does not take advantage of the GPU. You should be able to put together a nice A6-3500 build with an SSD for what you'll pay (or a little bit more) for a fully-loaded RL70/Q180.
(2012-07-11, 21:49)GortWillSaveUs Wrote: For one, you can expand a custom build easier than the RL70/Q180, but....

Depending on your budget,..if it were me, and if I didn't want to go over $350 and be up and running, I'd go with the RL70.

Any reason why you'd pick the RL70 over the Q180, the prices are the same.

(2012-07-11, 22:30)un1eash Wrote: