Digital Room Correction (DRC) Audio Filter?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Ondjultomte Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Nov 2003
Reputation: 0
Lightbulb  Digital Room Correction (DRC) Audio Filter?
Post: #1
a very useful feature that would really benefit all music lovers would be a implementation of brutefir.
the question is, would the box cpu capacity be enough ?
it would be great if you could use the box for drc purposes instead of buying "hifi hardware" for several 1000$
currently im using my computer for drc, but i would love to use the box instead.

would such a feature be insteresting?

interesting links:

http://freshmeat.net/projects/drc/?topic_id=114

http://www.ludd.luth.se/~torger/brutefir.html

http://www.mooneyass.com/drc/drc%20guide%20v1.0.pdf
find quote
Hullebulle Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,901
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
i am not a dev, but this sounds like the xbox is to slow for it:
:from http://www.ludd.luth.se/~torger/brutefir.html
Quote:hardware considerations
what is important for brutefir is that the machine has fast memory and fast processor. a pentium 4 with its rdram is probably the best choice today. however, an athlon with ddr ram is not bad either, and significantly cheaper. a fast processor on a computer with slow memory is what most often causes disappointment. for example, a dual pentium iii at 1 ghz with good use of both processors was found to be slower than a single processor 1 ghz amd athlon with ddr ram. the problem was that the pentium iii had poor memory performance. the stream benchmark [20] is a good program to use to verify the memory bandwidth if you think you get poor brutefir performance.
if you use sdram you will never get exceptional memory bandwidth, however, some tuning of timer settings in the bios, or overclocking of the memory bus can give you quite decent performance.

read the xbmc online-manual, faq and search the forums before posting! do not e-mail the xbmc-team asking for support!
read/follow the forum rules! note! team-xbmc never have and never will host or distribute ms-xdk binaries/executables!
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,181
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 175
Post: #3
the one advantage the xbox does have is it's audio hardware can do some limited fir stuff. whether it'd be enough to get the sort of stuff you're after such as room correction is another question.

ofcourse, you'd have to put up with upsampling to 48khz (which we are trying to work around, although the outlook is not terribly good at the moment).

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
johndoe2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Lightbulb  Digital Room Correction (DRC) in XBMC for Linux, Mac, and Windows?
Post: #4
If support for drc would be implemented in XBMC that would make xbmc the ultimate media player, for high end enthusiats.

http://drc-fir.sourceforge.net/

Support for these filter which are made externally.

Now that xbmc is available (finally) on powerfull PC hardware there would be no performance problems as with xbox1
(This post was last modified: 2008-12-05 03:44 by johndoe2000.)
find quote
muttley:bd Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
There is some news for this features?

Is there some "how to" for make Digital room correction on linux for xbmc?!

thanks!
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #6
1) get a receiver that supports it
2) you're set
find quote
muttley:bd Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
-1) give me money for get a new receiver!

But if i have an amazing programmable machine (PC) with wanderfull S.O. (Linux) and great player (XBMC) i think can be better, and more flexible, of new receiver!Nod

I must only understand how to use: DRC, BruteFIR, jack and pulseaudio...google...some help...shake...and hope Rofl
find quote
quotaholic Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Denver Colorado
Post: #8
I am a little confused as to how one would benefit from this as opposed to say the included microphone and audessey set up that modern receivers go through today. In my Arcam receiver not only did the audessey determine my speakers position to the second decimal place but it also determined the correct crossover points based on how the sound propagated through my listening room. One more, after applying delays for speaker distance delta's and correct attenuation the Arcam put parametric equalization to each channel individually in order to balance tone.

Don't get me wrong I realize that drc, not to be confused with Dynamic Range Compression, is a realtime "engine". I have to imagine it would rely on several input devices to give it feedback as to how the sound is propagating or microphones. Possibly only one microphone however the architecture versus cost versus benefit is something that I have a hard time imagining. Measurement quality microphone, high speed low latency interface (I am thinking firewire), yeah this will be expensive.

If I am listening to DTS-MA content at 24 bits and 192k the throughput needed on a cpu level for 8 channels worth of audio would be huge. Heck even something like the Konnekt Live from TC Electonics with built in DSP engine and ability to do real time room correction via filters may not be enough by the time by the time the math is done, filter is made and applied to the outgoing audio stream. Add a Powercore and now we are talking. To do this in all software I have to think would be ludicrous.

In comparison to the audessey calibration, and correct me if I am wrong, this would correct the audio in the room making real time adjustments if say someone were to get up from the sofa and walk across the listening room to go to the bathroom while something was playing? I love technology but I fail to realize a benefit for this in 99 percent of applications. Dont get me wrong it sounds cool and I would love to play with it however is it possible and for how much and how much difference will I see over my audessy set up?

quotaholic

OrigenAE M10 Case, AMD Fusion passive Mini-ITX, 4gb Kingston low pro, PC10333, OCZ 160GB SSD, Panasonic UJ-135A Slot load Bluray, WebDT 366 running Yatse2 remote control, Arcam AVR400, Aperion Audio - Intimus Cinema 532 speaker pkg. Sony KDL-52w4100, Synlogy NAS, Cisco E3000 DD-WRT Gig-e router.
find quote
GJones Offline
Fan
Posts: 438
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
muttley:bd Wrote:-1) give me money for get a new receiver!

But if i have an amazing programmable machine (PC) with wanderfull S.O. (Linux) and great player (XBMC) i think can be better, and more flexible, of new receiver!Nod

I must only understand how to use: DRC, BruteFIR, jack and pulseaudio...google...some help...shake...and hope Rofl

The cost of the reciever would be so much lower than the cost of the software development (I value dev time, even if it's free), that it would be hard to justify the work.

This is a solution desired by a limited number of people and already available through a hardware solution for them.
find quote
Livin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,528
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 17
Location: above ground
Post: #10
I'll take the $400 receiver that has a chip & algorythms in it with 10+ years of maturity, tweaking, and the best minds in A/V contributing, over a software version with little to no maturity -- Any day!

I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
find quote
muttley:bd Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
sorry, but my english is not very well...if i understand what you say:

I think your Arcam make Digital Room Correction:
Quote:but it also determined the correct crossover points based on how the sound propagated through my listening room.

i don't think DRC is real time, only at start use microphone, after that the filter is "static".

Quote:The cost of the reciever would be so much lower than the cost of the software development (I value dev time, even if it's free), that it would be hard to justify the work.

This is a solution desired by a limited number of people and already available through a hardware solution for them.

Confused

RE-READ my post:
Quote:I must only understand how to use: DRC, BruteFIR, jack and pulseaudio...google...some help...shake...and hope

DRC on linux is just supported, but i don't find a guide or someone for help me Blush
find quote
quotaholic Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Denver Colorado
Post: #12
Ahh, my mistake. I pictured what little I read as being a real time solution. That not being the case, yes I do see some application for this. The DIY amplifier community. There are a number of high end amplifier kits out on the market that would either require a "commercially available" preamp in order to decode digital streams or a d/a converter. In the latter of the two there would be no on board room calibration included so yes this would be a solution to some who also have the hardware option.

OrigenAE M10 Case, AMD Fusion passive Mini-ITX, 4gb Kingston low pro, PC10333, OCZ 160GB SSD, Panasonic UJ-135A Slot load Bluray, WebDT 366 running Yatse2 remote control, Arcam AVR400, Aperion Audio - Intimus Cinema 532 speaker pkg. Sony KDL-52w4100, Synlogy NAS, Cisco E3000 DD-WRT Gig-e router.
find quote
muttley:bd Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
quotaholic Wrote:Ahh, my mistake. I pictured what little I read as being a real time solution. That not being the case, yes I do see some application for this. The DIY amplifier community. There are a number of high end amplifier kits out on the market that would either require a "commercially available" preamp in order to decode digital streams or a d/a converter. In the latter of the two there would be no on board room calibration included so yes this would be a solution to some who also have the hardware option.
thanks for your understand!

I also add that with DRC implemented in "software mode", the user have more flexible system and i think also better. This because for DRC Hardware there is low-end system (cheap) and high-end (very expensive) that don't make the same DRC .

however i would remark only that this feature is not to be implemented by xbmc, but i think only "supported". And maybe xbmc can just support it Laugh

for mplayer (after drc, jack, brutefir) just start it with:
mplayer -ao jack:brutefir

...and i think can be the same on xbmc
find quote
BoxFreak Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Finland
Post: #14
One cheap option: http://www.minidsp.com/
find quote
muttley:bd Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
BoxFreak Wrote:One cheap option: http://www.minidsp.com/

interesting object, but...

It's not the same of a DRC: http://www.minidsp.com/forum/3-suggestio...ver-plugin Rolleyes

...and is not so cheap, about 170 $ for a similar DRC!

The pro is that with this object you can switch off the pc...but xbmc work on the pc Laugh
find quote
Post Reply