Run XBMC for Linux without GNOME, KDE, or XFCE?
Question 
Hello...

I know it would be easy to imagine or to answer, but I cannot stop thinking about it...

I would like to run XBMC without Gnome, XFCE or anyone... my Hardware is not plenty of memory, and it would be great I can use mediacenter without wasting memory and CPU at Windows managers... I have had used Freevo running directly with -fs option, executing directly from tty at system start... without gnome, kde, or anyone of them... I am not an expert, but I think freevo uses to connect itself to X or something like that..

Do you think is possible for XBMC to run it this wayHuh?

Thanks.
feanorknd Wrote:Hello...

I know it would be easy to imagine or to answer, but I cannot stop thinking about it...

I would like to run XBMC without Gnome, XFCE or anyone... my Hardware is not plenty of memory, and it would be great I can use mediacenter without wasting memory and CPU at Windows managers... I have had used Freevo running directly with -fs option, executing directly from tty at system start... without gnome, kde, or anyone of them... I am not an expert, but I think freevo uses to connect itself to X or something like that..

Do you think is possible for XBMC to run it this wayHuh?

Thanks.

Yes, you could do that.. I've built several digital picture frames from old laptops with a base install of debian and scripts to start a slideshow within its own x session..

Or you could do what I do.. instead of Ubuntu, I just installed xubuntu which I'm sure you know uses xfce.. it's much lighter than gnome and you still have a desktop if you need it.. I just set it to autologin and autostart xbmc at boot..
Rainbow 
rrambo Wrote:Yes, you could do that.. I've built several digital picture frames from old laptops with a base install of debian and scripts to start a slideshow within its own x session..