How to make xbmc autorun at startup
So I dont seem to be able to figure out how to get xbmc to automatically run when the computer starts up!

I'm running 8.04

I've seen a post that refers to "System->Preferences->Sessions->Startup Programs" but I cant find those menu items anywhere...

help please Smile
a
Funny that a quick search for "autostart" brings up this...

Please don't be so lazy next time.
jeez... no need to be rude!! I'm a total beginner at this and part of the problem is not knowing the correct terms for things (under linux) and therefor my hours of searching earlier for everything to do with "ubuntu / load /xbmc / startup / autoload" came up with nothing. And even if I did find something there's a fat chance I'd know what to look for!

SO... I am absolutely grateful for your help and maybe next time you could be a bit nicer about it Smile
to find out the command used to open up sessions, i used "xprop". This revealed the command is "gnome-session-properties"

open up a terminal and type this into it

gnome-session-properties

and in the tab "startup programs" click add and do this

name= xbmc

command= xbmc.bin
comment= awsome entertainment system! (or what ever youw ant)

okay it and reboot. if you want it in fullscreen and have issues, someone can help no problem.

if you do not have gnome-session-properties installed, do a

sudo apt-get install gnome-session

in the terminal and this should work for you.

WARNING! make sure you are running ubuntu hardy heron for that command. I am not sure what it will do on a kubuntu setup.
WOAH! sorry, replace the command with

command= xbmc

just use xbmc in the command. NOT xbmc.bin. It was a typo.
Correction, change command= xbmc.bin

instead of xbmc.bin, use plain old xbmc as a command
Yeah... I thik that more what I was looking for - Thanks heap for that! Will try it tonight and let you know!

ta

A
Along the lines of the original question...