Is xbmc.executebuiltin("XBMC.Extract()") - broken ?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Voinage Offline
Banned
Posts: 846
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: England
Post: #1
I`ve been trying for bloody hours to extract a rar via xbmc, can someone please either tell me the correct usage or tell me if it cannot be done on atlantis.

Code:
ok = xbmcgui.Dialog().select( 'Select Video Quality',['Extract test'])
        if ok==0:
                xbmc.executebuiltin("XBMC.Extract(Q://plugins/video/test/frog.rar)")

I`ve tried Lowercase extract, quotes around the path, single / after Q - just frog.rar, absolute extract path and nothing.....


HELP ME PLEASE !FrownStare:mad:
find quote
Nuka1195 Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,910
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #2
on the xbox? if so a large rar may not extract, memory issues.

For python coding questions first see http://mirrors.xbmc.org/docs/python-docs/
find quote
Voinage Offline
Banned
Posts: 846
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: England
Post: #3
Edit- Have Fixed the issue.

Xbmc will not unrar a file from the plugins/video folder had to shutil it first.

Onwards to the Voinage all-in-one plugin.
(This post was last modified: 2008-12-12 05:08 by Voinage.)
find quote
Nuka1195 Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,910
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #4
don't know if it still works but iu believe the t3ch installer uses it.

it should only be one / after the q:/ though.

For python coding questions first see http://mirrors.xbmc.org/docs/python-docs/
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #5
issues;

1) you need to use those fugly backslashes. i suspect this was the real issue(?)
2) as nuka said only one slash after q
find quote
Voinage Offline
Banned
Posts: 846
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: England
Post: #6
Hehe removed the fuglies Spiff - cheers
The issues are with my gradually improving , but slowly, coding.;->
find quote
Temhil Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 397
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Canada
Post: #7
Hi Voinage,

I have similar problem the XBMC.Extract buildin doesn't work anymore for me (I don't get why), I porbably did a change in the script I am working on it that broke it, but O don't see what it could be.
Could you gimme me more detail on what was your issue and more importantly how you solved it?

Thanks a lot!

[Image: passionxbmc_signature.png]
_____________________________

Repositories Installer: select and install unofficial repositories / TAC.TV: watch videos on TAC.TV
Installer Passion-XBMC: Download and Install Add-ons (pre-Dharma only)

[Image: project_thin_badge.gif]
find quote
Voinage Offline
Banned
Posts: 846
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: England
Post: #8
Nasty piece of work the Extract. I fixed the problem then stopped using it and went for the inbuilt python Zipimport instead.

But for the rar.

[code]
xbmc.executebuiltin("XBMC.Extract(Q:/plugins/video/VPR/Repo.rar,Q:/plugins/)")
[\code]

it needs direct paths , no virtuals and as spiff and nuka pointed out single slashes.

Also it doesn`t like extracting from virtual directories, if you are having touble try extracting to X:/ then shutil.move it to where you want.
find quote
Temhil Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 397
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Canada
Post: #9
Thanks very much for the information, I gonna have a look at that!

[edit]
Just checked the path it seems valid, but the extract of a rar still does not work, here is the path for example:
D:\Program Files\XBMC\scripts\Test\Apple Movie Trailers_24-11-08.rar
I also tried:
D:/Program Files/XBMC/scripts/Test/Apple Movie Trailers_24-11-08.rar
But it didn't work either.

[Image: passionxbmc_signature.png]
_____________________________

Repositories Installer: select and install unofficial repositories / TAC.TV: watch videos on TAC.TV
Installer Passion-XBMC: Download and Install Add-ons (pre-Dharma only)

[Image: project_thin_badge.gif]
(This post was last modified: 2008-12-21 07:57 by Temhil.)
find quote
Voinage Offline
Banned
Posts: 846
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: England
Post: #10
Your not developing on the xbox i see.

Set a full debug log to run then try the extract.
It show the error generally where normal debug doesn`t.

It`s probably file permissions- i know i had hell with them.
find quote