Optimising Alaska for Apple TV
Hi all,

Well after many months of testing, tweaking on my Macbook (and lurking here in the forums to find the answers to my noobish questions) I've taken the plunge. Yesterday I bought an Apple TV, ordered a Broadcom Crystal HD card (thanks davilla!) and loaded my modded version of Alaska (thanks to Hitcher, Amra and everyone else who have made it so easy for a complete novice to tweak things to his liking).

There have been a few dramas, but nothing major so far, however there are some things I'm hoping I might be able to get advice on.

The menu has a tendency to run a bit slow when browsing through my TV and Movies (I use poster view for both with Amra's mod) and I'm looking for any tips on optimising it for the Apple TV. One of my first thoughts was to reduce the size of the movie and TV posters to the exact size Alaska is using them on my 720p TV and this is where I need help.

Is anyone able to give me a pixel width and height for the enlarged view of the posters and what their res is (I'm presuming 72dpi but I could be wrong). Also is there a particular format XBMC prefers or is jpg the best?

Any other hits or tips to get the menu performing as smoothly as possible would be appreciated.

Again, thanks to everyone who has worked on and contributed to XBMC and Alaska, you guys rock!

Cheers
Paul
I personally don't have a ATV but when I notice alot of people recommend using that .DDS fanart conversion...Main Thread. And this thread is same type of discussion but more Alaska centric...
Thanks, I can see I've got a bit of work to do this weekend Smile