Artwork Downloader

  Thread Rating:
  • 12 Votes - 4.25 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,615
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #16
Problem like paddycarey sayd.

Could you try this one:
https://github.com/downloads/Machine-San...loader.zip

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2011-11-15 21:12 by Martijn.)
find quote
paddycarey Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 8
Post: #17
PunkyMatt Wrote:
Code:
<setting id="limit_extrafanart_max" value="20,000000" />
<setting id="limit_extrafanart_rating" value="5,000000" />

This looks like the problem right there. Your locale uses "," instead of "." as a decimal separator. Should be a simple fix, thanks for reporting.
find quote
PunkyMatt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: France, IdF
Post: #18
Machine-Sanctum Wrote:There should be any
Code:
,
in your settings. Strange.

Could you try this one:
https://github.com/downloads/Machine-San...loader.zip

paddycarey Wrote:This looks like the problem right there. Your locale uses "," instead of "." as a decimal separator. Should be a simple fix, thanks for reporting.


yeah that "," seemed strange to me when I looked into settings.xml to paste it here. I've checked settings for another script (cinema experience), and it has the same "," for decimal number so I tought it was normal.

But now I remember that cinema experience stopped working recently too, must be the same problem.

Thanks, I'm gonna try your new version as soon as my girlfriend has stopped playing with the Wii Wink and report back here.

Do you think it's someting that needs to be fixed at script level, XBMC settings level (I'm using French as international settings) or is it something to fix systemwide ?
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,615
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #19
PunkyMatt Wrote:Do you think it's someting that needs to be fixed at script level, XBMC settings level (I'm using French as international settings) or is it something to fix systemwide ?
Well if it fixes it it should stay in there just in case. Wasn't a major thing so.
Just set my nightly build to french (luckely i know a little) and i had no problems so it might by something else.
Seems to me that this can cause more problems somewhere so maybe post your problem in the right section (maybe the PVR section) to get this looked at by the dev's.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2011-11-15 21:25 by Martijn.)
find quote
paddycarey Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 8
Post: #20
Should be something we can easily fix in the script. It's normal for some locales to use , instead of .

Not sure if it's always been this way or it was recently changed in xbmc.
find quote
paddycarey Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 8
Post: #21
Machine-Sanctum Wrote:Just set my nightly build to french (luckely i know a little) and i had no problems so it might by something else.

did you change your settings after the language switch? if you didn't then you won't have noticed a difference i don't think.
find quote
PunkyMatt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: France, IdF
Post: #22
Machine-Sanctum Wrote:Well if it fixes it it should stay in there just in case. Wasn't a major thing so.
Just set my nightly build to french (luckely i know a little) and i had no problems so it might by something else.


Seems like a big problem for me, I've just checked I have these "," everywhere, even in xbmc guisettings.xml.

I compared it with my backed up guisettings.xml from before I upgrade to pre-Eden, and the Dharma one doesn't have the ","

for example

Code:
Dharma guisettings.xml
...
   <defaultvideosettings>
        <interlacemethod>0</interlacemethod>
        <scalingmethod>1</scalingmethod>
        <noisereduction>0.000000</noisereduction>
        <sharpness>0.000000</sharpness>
        <viewmode>0</viewmode>
        <zoomamount>1.000000</zoomamount>
        <pixelratio>1.000000</pixelratio>
...
   <locale>
        <charset>DEFAULT</charset>
        <country>France</country>
        <language>French</language>
        <timezone>Europe/Paris</timezone>
        <timezonecountry>France</timezonecountry>
    </locale>
...

Eden guisettings:
...
    <defaultvideosettings>
        <deinterlacemode>0</deinterlacemode>
        <interlacemethod>1</interlacemethod>
        <scalingmethod>1</scalingmethod>
        <noisereduction>0,000000</noisereduction>
        <postprocess>false</postprocess>
        <sharpness>0,000000</sharpness>
        <viewmode>0</viewmode>
        <zoomamount>1,000000</zoomamount>
        <pixelratio>1,000000</pixelratio>
...
    <locale>
        <charset>DEFAULT</charset>
        <country>France</country>
        <language>French</language>
        <timezone>Europe/Paris</timezone>
        <timezonecountry>France</timezonecountry>
    </locale>
...

So this must be an XBMC problem, not a script problem.
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,615
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #23
PunkyMatt Wrote:Seems like a big problem for me, I've just checked I have these "," everywhere, even in xbmc guisettings.xml.

I compared it with my backed up guisettings.xml from before I upgrade to pre-Eden, and the Dharma one doesn't have the ","

So this must be an XBMC problem, not a script problem.

So you should definitely post this bug somewhere or create a trac bug ticket for this. Does this happen to only that build version or several?

Did it fix the issue for you or haven't you got the chance to try?

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
PunkyMatt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: France, IdF
Post: #24
Machine-Sanctum Wrote:So you should definitely post this bug somewhere or create a trac bug ticket for this. Does this happen to only that build version or several?

Did it fix the issue for you or haven't you got the chance to try?

didn't try yet, I can't get my girlfriend to stop playing on the Wii Wink


It's the first pre Eden build I try, I installed it yesterday
find quote
PunkyMatt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: France, IdF
Post: #25
I just did a quick test, and everything's working fine if I change my XBMC languages to english.

I'll investigate further when I'll have some time and post a bug report when I'm sure the problem is not caused by me.
find quote
Rastan Offline
Fan
Posts: 366
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 2
Location: Over there... To the left, right.. Thats it!
Post: #26
Machine-Sanctum Wrote:Thank you all for your comments.

So no issues so farConfused

Now I am surprised Big Grin

Thanks for the amazing plugin. Love all the new aditions you guys are making. One thing I noticed almost immediately after scraping is that I have posters unticked under movie settings, but it still downloads the poster.jpg anyway. Its not that big of a deal for me but thought I shoudl let you know.

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,615
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #27
Rastan Wrote:Thanks for the amazing plugin. Love all the new aditions you guys are making. One thing I noticed almost immediately after scraping is that I have posters unticked under movie settings, but it still downloads the poster.jpg anyway. Its not that big of a deal for me but thought I shoudl let you know.

Will look into that. It may just be a glitch of the dialog but none the less should be fixed.

EDIT:
You are right. Will fix.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2011-11-16 01:04 by Martijn.)
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,615
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #28
Artwork Downloader - Eden11.0 ONLY: version 0.4.2.RC2
Available from download section.

Bug fixes:

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2011-11-16 03:22 by Martijn.)
find quote
rich_stwrt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #29
Have not had a chance to try this yet, will try a little later tonight when i can reclaim the TV from the family.

But, based on the features you have listed, I see one more that would be incredibly useful.

As far as TV shows, XBMC will always default to 'folder.jpg' as the artwork for the show. Some skins (like confluence) assume this is a banner, and let you set an option to use 'poster.jpg' as the artwork. Conversely, some skins (simplicity is the one i am familiar with) assume 'folder.jpg' is a poster and allow you to set an option to use 'banner.jpg'.

Since it does not appear the base code is going to move away from using 'folder.jpg' anytime in the near future, it would be useful as I am downloading the artwork to be able to either name the banner or the poster files 'folder.jpg' as they are downloaded. Even better would be to make a copy of the selected file (banner or poster) and name the copy 'folder.jpg'.

Or (and I'm really dreaming big here) how about the ability to bulk change the 'folder.jpg' to either a banner or poster.

Interestingly, I don't think there is an external scraper out there that has this functionality... if you could accomplish this you would be on the cutting edge.

Thanks for listening.
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,615
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #30
rich_stwrt Wrote:But, based on the features you have listed, I see one more that would be incredibly useful.
....
Interestingly, I don't think there is an external scraper out there that has this functionality... if you could accomplish this you would be on the cutting edge.

Thanks for listening.

It was already planned just not yet implemented. It will eventually, i just need to find the best way on how to do this and how this option needs to be shown in the settings.

Ember can do this in bulk mode.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2011-11-16 13:01 by Martijn.)
find quote
Post Reply