[WINDOWS] Suggestion on zotac ad02

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
neoyagami Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hello i'm going to buy this hardware for my xbmc (running under windows)
Is it a correct configuration? Is the ram enough? Are the ram and ssd compatible with the zotac ad02?

Thanks

Zotac ZBOX-AD02-E

SSD


RAM
find quote
Voyager Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 5
Location: Belgium
Post: #2
I just upgraded my "old" Atom 330/ION asus eeebox to a Zotac Zbox AD04 with a 60 GB SSD (OCZ Agility 3) and a single 4 GB SODIMM DDR3-1333 module. I'm very happy with the result on Windows. The E450 in the AD04 is just a tad faster than the E350, so is the GPU component of it.

You will have to install the latest Catalyst drivers, use the following key settings:

AMD Catalyst:
- "Enforce Smooth Video Playback" ON
- Automatic Deinterlacing OFF

XBMC:
- Auto refresh rate / Sync playback to display
- Auto deinterlacing / Auto deinterlacing method

EDIT: to answer your question, yes both the SSD and the RAM seem OK for the configuration.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-12 14:59 by Voyager.)
find quote
neoyagami Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thanks for your answer Smile
find quote
loeffel Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #4
The Corsair modul works fine with the AD02 (I'm using the same combination). SSD not really needed if you wants to use it as a HTPC only ;-) but surely a little bit faster on startup ...
I'm using a 80GB 5400rpm sata hard drive (retired laptop) in combination with Windows 8 Consumer Preview.
The Zotac AD02 works without any issues and also without any manual driver installation :-) Startup time about 30 seconds (cold boot) ...
find quote
Rrrr Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Mar 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Can you relate the performance of the AD02 and the AD04 to an Asrock 330 ION?

Am interested to upgrade too Smile

XBMC 12.2 on Asrock 330-Pro W8.1.
Raspmbc on Raspberry Pi.
find quote
patseguin Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,089
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 5
Post: #6
All of the Zotacs are very good. Just don't expect HD audio, that's the only reason I don't use them in my living room.

Server: Synology Diskstation 1511+ with 8x 3TB drives and DSM 5.0
Main HTPC: Home built Intel core i3, 8GB RAM, Corsair 128GB SSD, nVidia 630GTX, Motorola Nyxboard, Pioneer VSX-53, Panasonic VT30 65" 3D TV
Bedroom HTPC: Zotac-ID 41 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD, Samsung HW-E550, Sony Google TV
find quote
Rrrr Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Mar 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Thank you for noting that, is there any ready made or barebone box that can bitstream HD Audio as well?

XBMC 12.2 on Asrock 330-Pro W8.1.
Raspmbc on Raspberry Pi.
find quote
Voyager Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 5
Location: Belgium
Post: #8
@patseguin: why would HD audio not work on the AMD APUs? Both Zacate E350 and E450 do support Dolby TrueHD / DTS-HD Master Audio bitstreaming over HDMI

@Rrrr: 330/ION to E350/E450 : Playback quality went from only just acceptable (occasional framedrops) to perfect playback all the time.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-13 19:58 by Voyager.)
find quote
Rrrr Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Mar 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
http://www.zotac.com/index.php?option=co...66&lang=en

http://www.zotac.com/index.php?option=co...68&lang=en

They talk do about Dolby TrueHD & DTS-HD: Master Audio bitstream ready.
So theoretically it should work, fantastic.

1. But did anyone check if this works with XBMC?

Edit: just found this: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=125098
Quote:patseguin Wrote:
I've been talking to Zotac and they say none of their products support TrueHD, DTS HD, so beware if you want HD audio.

Odd thing for them to say....
I get True HD and DTS-MA from my AD02.
also...
http://www.zotac.com/index.php?option=co...Itemid=268

"HDMI, DVI-I and VGA (with included adapter) outputs
AMD UVD technology(hardware accelerated H.264, VC-1, decode)
Dolby TrueHD & DTS-HD: Master Audio bitstream ready"

and

Quote:http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=115686



2....and is the noise level of the Xotacs less than Asrock 330, I really hope so.

3....is the ND22 really faster? I like ION, but I mean ND22 seems older technology 1.2Ghz celeron, DirectX 10, sata 3.0, only USB2.0 etc
It probably boils down to ND22 if you need Linux and therefore need ION:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=105490

XBMC 12.2 on Asrock 330-Pro W8.1.
Raspmbc on Raspberry Pi.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-13 21:23 by Rrrr.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #10
the Xotac ND22 is King above all Xotacs
find quote
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 879
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 22
Post: #11
(2012-03-13 20:44)Rrrr Wrote:  ....is the ND22 really faster? I like ION, but I mean ND22 seems older technology 1.2Ghz celeron, DirectX 10, sata 3.0, only USB2.0 etc
It probably boils down to ND22 if you need Linux and therefore need ION:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=105490

When you say linux, would you be ok with running openelec, which is basically a stripped down linux that only runs xbmc and nothing else?

Because from what I hear, openelec works without problems on these e-350/450 apus

(The problem with nd22 is that it is discontinued and is rather hard to find, and other ions are significantly slower than e-3/450 apus)
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-13 23:10 by aptalca.)
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,252
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #12
For Windows 7, this fully equipped little guy is a great choice- ASUS Eee Box EB1021 . It's ready for XBMC out of the box!

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
lagledavid Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 2
Location: Las Vegs
Tongue  RE: [WINDOWS] Suggestion on zotac ad02
Post: #13
(2012-03-13 23:03)eskro Wrote:  the Xotac ND22 is King above all Xotacs

nice Rofl Laugh Nod

My HTPC AMD A8-3870K CPU/ SilverStone ML03B/ASRock MB-A75M /Seasonic SS-400ET/Corsair XMS3 4GB
find quote
Nacmacfeegle Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
(2012-03-13 20:44)Rrrr Wrote:  http://www.zotac.com/index.php?option=co...66&lang=en

http://www.zotac.com/index.php?option=co...68&lang=en

They talk do about Dolby TrueHD & DTS-HD: Master Audio bitstream ready.
So theoretically it should work, fantastic.

1. But did anyone check if this works with XBMC?

Edit: just found this: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=125098
Quote:patseguin Wrote:
I've been talking to Zotac and they say none of their products support TrueHD, DTS HD, so beware if you want HD audio.

Odd thing for them to say....
I get True HD and DTS-MA from my AD02.
also...
http://www.zotac.com/index.php?option=co...Itemid=268

"HDMI, DVI-I and VGA (with included adapter) outputs
AMD UVD technology(hardware accelerated H.264, VC-1, decode)
Dolby TrueHD & DTS-HD: Master Audio bitstream ready"

and

Quote:http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=115686



2....and is the noise level of the Xotacs less than Asrock 330, I really hope so.

3....is the ND22 really faster? I like ION, but I mean ND22 seems older technology 1.2Ghz celeron, DirectX 10, sata 3.0, only USB2.0 etc
It probably boils down to ND22 if you need Linux and therefore need ION:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=105490

Hi, I guess I need to add that I'm using the HD audio patch Eden , with latest ATI drivers, and win 7 Pro on my AD02.
TueHD and DTS MA lights up on my AVR. when playing appropriate files.

FWIW my AD02 is noticably quieter than my Revo 3610, am also running an SSD on the Zotac but spinning a disc on the Revo
find quote