[PATCH] New passthrough implementation for AAC/MP1/MP2/MP3 support - Testers needed!

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
gnif Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 442
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 34
Location: Australia, Katoomba
Thumbs Up  [PATCH] New passthrough implementation for AAC/MP1/MP2/MP3 support - Testers needed!
Post: #1
Hi all.

I am posting this in the hopes of getting some of you who have receivers that support AAC, MP1, MP2 or MP3 to test this patch set.

http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/8575

* Adds spdif muxer to ffmpeg
* Modifies CDVDAudioCodecPassthrough to use ffmpeg spdif muxer
* Adds configure switches --enable-lib(dts|a52) to switch back to the old implementation
* Adds downmixing via ffmpeg to CDVDAudioCodecFFmpeg
* Adds AAC passthrough
* Adds MP1 passthrough
* Adds MP2 passthrough
* Adds MP3 passthrough

I am not scared of SVN - Cutting my hands open on the bleeding edge.
find quote
thetalm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I recently posted a question about xbmc capability for xbmc to passtrough mp3 audio streams over hdmi without conversion in lpcm

my Denon 4308 receiver handles mp3 conversion and has a "restorer" function that improves mp3 audio. I noticed a huge difference in music quality when accessing my music library via dlna against directly from xbmc

so i'available for testing, but i'm a complete linux newby i don't know what i have to do. Have I to download a specific SVN ?

my setup is camelot on ubuntu karmic on a acer revo 3600 connected via hdmi only.
find quote
althekiller Offline
Retired Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 5,002
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 12
Post: #3
thetalm Wrote:i noticed a huge difference in music quality when accessing my music library via dlna against directly from xbmc

lol!
find quote
gnif Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 442
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 34
Location: Australia, Katoomba
Post: #4
The changes are now in svn, just grab the latest revision if you want to test. It would be great if those with MP* and AAC support could provide me feedback on how well it does/doesn't work.

I am not scared of SVN - Cutting my hands open on the bleeding edge.
find quote
uncertainty Offline
Fan
Posts: 499
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Jersey
Post: #5
By the way does this mean that realtime AC3 encoding of AAC files is in the works?

thanks
find quote
gnif Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 442
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 34
Location: Australia, Katoomba
Post: #6
Yes, its on its way Big Grin

I am not scared of SVN - Cutting my hands open on the bleeding edge.
find quote
WiSo Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 2,733
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #7
What about the low volume for down mixing is there also something "in the works"? Wink

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
uncertainty Offline
Fan
Posts: 499
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Jersey
Post: #8
gnif Wrote:Yes, its on its way Big Grin

Great to hear.......thanks
find quote
dodvan Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Reading http://www.xbmc.org/trac/attachment/tick...6/ac3.diff I think I found a small bug, at file xbmc/cores/dvdplayer/DVDCodecs/Audio/DVDAudioCodecPassthroughFFmpeg.cpp, line #56, it should be "memset(m_OutputBuffer, 0, ..." instead of "memset(m_DecodeBuffer, 0, ...".

Is this the proper place to report things like this one? Please excuse me if not (I'm a newbie...) Regards.
find quote
The doctor Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
I use the Denon AVR-1909 with MP3/WMA/AAC restorer. XBMC running via Apple TV and HDMI.

Will add to feedback.

Regards
find quote
uncertainty Offline
Fan
Posts: 499
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Jersey
Post: #11
BTW Gnif I'm following Ticket #8726 and looks awesome. Can't wait to try it out soon.....

Good work..
find quote
Goga777 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
I have tested video files with mp2 aac ac3 tracks on Dharma Rc1 and passthrough - work fine. But passthrough doesn't work with mp3 shoutcast streams. Does it feature of paplayer ?
find quote
cowunder Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Goga777 Wrote:I have tested video files with mp2 aac ac3 tracks on Dharma Rc1 and passthrough - work fine. But passthrough doesn't work with mp3 shoutcast streams. Does it feature of paplayer ?

u can decode aac with ur amplifier without converting to ac3? i mean ur decoder says it's aac?
find quote
Goga777 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
I didn't find in specification for my Digital Home Cinema System Samsung HT-TKX500 aac decoding capability , that's why for me it's surprising - how it was possible. My Samsung doesn't have indicator for stream name.
find quote
alexrose1uk Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 269
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #15
Heh, I wondered where this feature actually went as I was using AAC passthrough in the Dharma Beta 1, and then the option for MP1/2/3/AAC passthrough dissapeared from the options in B2 and onwards.
Just noticed the ticket states the feature is due in 10.5, so I'm guessing they're saving it for the SVN/releases after Dharma official, perhaps along with Gnif's new audio engine Smile

i3-2100 /w Scythe Big Shuriken Cooler, 4GB RAM, GT430 Passive, 40GB SSD boot drive, 2TB 5400RPM internal media drive, 2TB external drive, Nexus 430W PSU, Nexus case fans

Feeding Yamaha RX-V1800, Panasonic 42PZ80 Plasma, Mission 753/Quad speaker surround kit
find quote
Post Reply